Cooking

Southwestern Shrimp Salad

Friday night is Date Night in our house.  I try really hard to stick with this rule because 1) on Friday night’s I’m beat 2) I like to have some chill out time with Jerry.  90% of the time, date night is spent at home.  I make dinner, we catch up on the DVR and it’s light’s out by 9:30.  We’re old.  I’m perfectly OK with this.

This was a particularly long week and I didn’t really feel like spending a ton of time in the kitchen.  Salad is always a quick go to option.

I made my favorite cilantro lime vinaigrette:  juice of one lime, one clove of garlic, big handful of cilantro, a couple tablespoons of olive oil and salt & pepper to taste.  Whirl in the mini food processor (or magic bullet)…done and done.

I sautéed some large shrimp in my favorite hot pepper oil from Trader Joes.  2 minutes per side is all it takes!  Once the shrimpies are cooked, toss them in 1/2 the vinaigrette and set aside.

001

The remaining viniagrette gets tossed in our favorite salad fixins…romaine, spinach red peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, shredded cheddar.  Pour the shrimps (and all the yummy sauce) over the salad and dig in!

002

We currently are without cable.  It’s only 3-4 months. (No HGTV, No DIY, No Food Network…ARGH!!!) and we’re making due with Netflix and Hulu streamed through our AppleTV.  Right now we’re on Season 5 of Mad Men. Ugh, that Don Draper…he is something!

And as it is STILL FREEZING in Western PA, I’m bringing the springtime indoors!  Courtesy of Costco…

028

Leave a Reply

