Favorites

Friday Favorites #2

Here are some things that I’m loving this week…

Fitbit Flex

Once upon a time I bought a Fitbit.  It was similar to the current Fitbit One and I loved it.  It encouraged me to take the long route and walk the stairs.  It sent me little messages and daily motivators.  I could sync it with My Fitness Pal and it would wirelessly upload to my computer so I could marvel at my progress. It was my fitness BFF.

Then I lost it. 

That sucker is so small!  I was constantly leaving it on my pants.  It would fall off during a workout.  I think I sent it through the wash.  It went to laundry heaven and is hanging out with all of those single socks I can’t find.  (I loved it so much I may, or may not, have purchased a second one on ebay.  I lost that one too…don’t tell Jerry).

I later bought another, cheaper pedometer (that I have also lost).  It was fine with counting my steps but it wasn’t the same.  No syncing. No fun messages. No banners telling me how awesome I was.  I just love Fitbit.

Then last month, while on a visit to Florida, I discovered a new Fitbit.  The Fitbit Flex.  It was a bracelet!  Someone much hipper than me (Grandma Fiorenzano, I’m looking at you!) had one and it worked the same as my beloved Fitbit One.  Surely I can manage to hold on to something I wore on my wrist!  After all, I haven’t lost the watch Jerry bought me 3 years ago. 

So I took my Best Buy gift cards and bought one!  And let me tell you…this thing is awesome! It syncs wirelessly with my phone and laptop.  It sends me alerts when I hit my step goal for the day.  Now my long walks with J-dawg get me a big Atta Girl!  I thrive on positive reinforcement. 

010 fitbit

And it tracks my sleep!  Yes, I get up at least once a night to pee.  This night it was at 1:32 am.  And I roll around a lot…especially between 12:11 am – 12:36 am. 

009 

The only downside is that it doesn’t display the steps on the face.  It has a little band at the top of the tracker that gives you a dot for every 2000 steps (your goal is 10,000/day, which is equal to 5 miles).  But the app on my phone gives you real-time stats and I have my phone on me 24/7.  So NBD.

Zoku Quick Pop Maker

I don’t actually have this yet.  We don’t have any freezer room at the moment.  But you can bet your bottom dollar it will be the first new purchase I make after the big move.  I LOVE popsicles!  And I like the idea of being able to make healthy ones.

img75o

 

Vitacost

My go to store for vitamins.  But, they also carry all kinds of other healthy products.  You can’t beat their prices. Kind bars for $1.31 each (must buy a case).  Cheap chia seeds and coconut oil…if you’re into that kind of thing. Plus cleaning supplies, beauty products, even toilet paper!

I’ve been shopping at Vitacost for a couple of years.  You get 4% back on Ebates!  8% during special promotions.  Free shipping on orders over $49.  No, I’m not getting paid to say this.  I’m just a superfan.

New Library

Living on the Southside had a lot of perks.  One of my favorites was a newly remodeled branch of the Carnegie Library right on Carson Street.  As I’m always striving to read more, it’s nice not to have to buy the books.  I’m happy to report that Cranberry Township has a decent library.  And I currently have two books checked out…

This is where I leave you (an Amy Thomas recommendation)

The Bear

(you can’t Look Inside…I stole these pictures from Amazon’s website)

I will let you know how they are.

Binge Watching TV

I am ruined from all other forms of viewing television.  I thought the DVR had changed my life.  It is much more gratifying to watch a whole season of TV in a few days.  Patience is not a strong trait of mine.  Breaking Bad started the cycle and (as I mentioned before), the Walking Dead has taken over our evenings.  We’ve breezed through House of Cards, Mad Men, White Collar (Jerry) and Orange is the New Black.  Jerry is also watching The Shield and I’m along for the ride.  It’s in my top 5 favorite series of all time. Anything else we should be watching?  Please don’t say Game of Thrones. I tried. I don’t like it.

3 Day Weekends

No explanation needed.

And I hope yinz guys have a great one!!

Leave a Reply

