Favorites

Friday Favorites #4

Here are some things I’m loving this week…

Old Navy

Shop n Save ran a promo a couple of weeks ago.  Save $5 on a $25 gift card for the Gap Brands (Gap, Banana, Old Navy, Athleta, Piperlime).  So I bought 2 (I should have bought 10).  And I had a coupon for Old Navy for $20 off a $50 purchase.  It was a no brainer to pick up some fun stuff for summer.

The bulk of my purchase consisted of these Doloman Sleeved Tees.  They are flowy, soft and great for spring.  I bought all 4 colors…chances are if you see me in 2014, you’ll see me in one of these tees. And they were on sale for $12.  Win-win

I also bought a cardigan (librarian fashonista for life!).  Grand total for 5 items = $43.94.  Yay me!

New neighbors

Jerry and I found out last week that there will be some familiar faces running around Cranberry in a month or so.  So excited that this family is coming to the neighborhood:

996941_10151805962338897_1691164315_n

Yep, Kevin, Katie and my two favorite munchkins are moving right down the road!!  They are literally across the street from our apartment and will be 10 minutes away once we move to Lot 256.  Party at Aunt Jenny’s house!!

Cheesecake Factory Skinnylicioius Tacos

Yes, yes…I’m still talking about tacos.  We attempted to stuff our faces with Gobbleritos on Tuesday at Mad Mex (well, I was going to have a salad…little Jenny Lamesauce) but the wait was 2+ hours with no guaranteed there would be any left.  The placed was insanely packed so we skipped the tryptophan coma and went to the Cheesecake Factory.

I’ve never been a big fan of the Cheesy Factory.  Their menu and portions are massive and while they have a lot of food to choose from, they don’t do any of it particularly well. But it’s great when you have a picky diverse group of people because there is something for everyone.  I know they have a skinnylicious menu and thought it would be perfect for the 2 members of the group desperately trying to shed their winter weight.

Well helllllloooooo Skinnylicious tacos!!!  I got shrimp, Jerry got chicken.  And they were delicious!  Who needs messy tacos smothered in cheese and sour cream (I do! I do!) when you have this yummy, healthy option? Seriously, they were really good.  So good that I went back to the CF for more tacos 2 days later.

source

They come with picked vegetables that are tasty but you get a giant amount of them (shocker) and the vinegar is a bit much about half way through.  You can sub a Caesar or side salad and that’s what I did on round #2.

Red Envelope

I am not a particularly creative gift giver.  It’s not that I’m lazy when I give you a gift card for your birthday or Christmas…I just second guess most of my ideas and figure it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

My lovely friend, Chiquita, gave me these tea towels for my birthday (she comes up with the most original ideas…she needs to start a gift buying service!).  How perfect are these??

001

002  003

I am in love with that fork, knife, spoon one.  I may frame it and put it in my kitchen.  And the est 2014 one is very special as it’s the year we move into Lot 256.  Jerry will never let me use it as a towel.  It will probably get framed too.

I saw on the box that they came from Red Envelope.  I had totally forgotten about this place!  I used to buy a lot of gifts from them, they really have a ton of great ideas. Sorry Chiquita, I’m starting my own gift buying service!

Chia Pudding

043

I know.  It looks like vomit.  But it doesn’t taste like it.  Not that I’ve ever…

ANYWAY, slice up a banana, add 1 T chia seeds, 1/4 cup oats, and enough almond milk to cover.  Stir it up and put it in the fridge for a couple of hours or overnight.   I added a T of almond butter and a drizzle of honey before eating.  So yummy!  I had it for breakfast and it really kept me full for most of the morning.  Those swollen little chia seeds can be an acquired taste…if you have texture issues, they’re a little strange.  But it’s a super healthy way to start, or end, the day!

Happy Friday everyone!

6 thoughts on “Friday Favorites #4”

  1. Hi. I found you thru …Jack and Sally. I’ll follow you, too. Fun post!! I thought the same about Cheesecake Factory as far as yummy but such big portions and too many calories. I forgot about their new menu, too. Great to meet you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

