Favorites, Uncategorized

Friday Favorites #5

Here are some of the things I’ve been loving lately.

Engine 2 Brown Rice Tortillas

I have been avoiding wheat lately.  I had been saying that I was avoiding gluten, but really, it’s the wheat I’m trying to stay away from.

On a recent trip to Whole Foods, I found these Engine 2 Brown Rice Tortillas and decided to give them a shot. They are minimally processed and chock full of natural ingredients.  Which means they probably taste like cardboard.

I would like to introduce you to my latest obsession.  Obsession as in I’ve eaten this tortilla pizza 3 times this week.  It would have been 4 but Jerry wouldn’t let me.  He wanted sausage and peppers.  Feast your eyes on pizza perfection!

002

All right, all right…it’s not pizza perfection.  But I’m striving for 6 pack flatter abs not pizza dough abs right now and this is seriously saving me from my pizza cravings.

Basic recipe:

1 tortilla (brown rice or whole grain) – 150 calories
1/2 cup marinara sauce (I used Simply Nature from Aldi…it’s my favorite!) – 40 calories
1/4 cup shredded parmesan – 70 calories
1/4 cup part skim mozzarella or 2% sharp cheddar – 70 calories

330 calories!  I added 1 T of bacon bits (Wellshire Farms are the best) to this one (35 cal) and cooked it in my toaster oven at 400 for 10 minutes.  You will be surprised how much the low fat cheese melts and does not taste like plastic.  The tortilla crust gets crispy but not dry and brittle.  Quick, easy and deeeelicious!

I cannot tell you how these tortillas taste in any other form. Wrap, quesadilla, tortilla chips?? I got nothin’. Just pizza. Always pizza.

Jujubes

These are not a Friday favorite.  These are an all-time favorite!  My favorite candy EVER!  I am not the only one who likes them because they still sell them everywhere.  I am, however, the only one I know who likes them.  Which doesn’t bother me in the slightest. More for Jujubes for me.

why yes, I was so excited about eating them that I took a picture and posted it on Instagram

Jacob the Great

We hit the jackpot when we adopted this guy last July.

015

020 021

022

I just love him to pieces.  That is all.

Iced Green Tea

White Mangosteen Peach Green Tea

This Lipton Peach Green Tea is my new favorite beverage.  Water, water, and more water is the name of the game these days for me.  I’m trying to take in a 1 gallon per day (which is not tough for me…I’ve always been a big water drinker).  But man, ya need to switch it up every once in a while!  So I brew a big cup of green tea in the morning and pour it over ice at lunch time.  Repeat after lunch for a late day pick-me-up.  It’s so refreshing!  I can see this becoming a big staple in my house over the summer.

Alternative Work Schedule = Pool time! 

I am very fortunate to work for a company that offers flexible work time.  Beginning June 2, I start a 9/80 schedule.  My work day will increase by 1 hour and I will have every other Friday off.  It’s kind of like getting 26 extra vacation days per year.  Whhyyyyyyyyy haven’t I don’t this before?!?!

I currently work 7-4 and when we lived in the Southside, this afforded me a 30 minute commute each way.  Heading home @ 4:30 or 5:00 tacked 20-30 minutes on to that and I really didn’t want to get home so late.  But now that my commute is 10 minutes (if that).

So every other Friday, you will find me here.  The pool opens this weekend!

Happy Friday!

1 thought on “Friday Favorites #5”

Leave a Reply

