Weekend

Memorial Day Weekend Wrap Up

This was probably one of the best Memorial Day weekends we’ve had in a long time.  The weather was absolutely perfect!  Mid-70s, low humidity, lots of sun…just stellar. 

Friday

Jerry and I started out the weekend with dinner on the patio.  Tilapia and steamed broccoli.  Sooooo delicious!!!  No, no it wasn’t.  It was fine. The tilapia was basil pesto I picked up at Costco and it was pretty tasty.  And the steamed broccoli was as good as steamed broccoli could be.  It was a beautiful night and we shoved that food in our faces as quickly as we could because….

013 

We knew we were going to Sincerely Yogurt after dinner. 

015 014

When you haven’t had sugar in 30 days, you get really excited for frozen yogurt.  I don’t even really care about sugar all that much & I was excited.  You can imagine how Jerry was!  However, the cheesecake yogurt topped with cookie dough, Reese’s cups, hot fudge, salt caramel & chocolate sauce sat in his stomach like a stone and he was pretty sick the rest of the night.  We watched some Dexter and hit the hay early.

Saturday

We were up bright and early for an Estate Sale.  Note to self:  I hate Estate Sales. 

 016 

Jerry bought a shoe shiner machine and we were outta there by 8:00.  Breakfast at Tonin’s diner and then off to the office park with Jacob.  I figured we could use a change of scenery and didn’t feel like dealing with North Park, so we walked the 1.6 mile loop around my office complex 2x.  It’s really beautiful there too…who needs the crowds?!

017 018 019 

When I returned home, I started making picnic food.  I pinned this recipe for Strawberry Mango salsa earlier in the week and just happened to have all of the stuff to make it.  Wow, was it good!  My mango was really ripe so it was a little softer than I would have liked, but it still tasted yummy. 

022 023

These spicy peanut noodles are my new go to picnic salad.  I got so many compliments on them…and I used brown rice noodles so they were gluten free (win/win).  They weren’t as spicy as I would have liked but the heat increased after sitting a day in the fridge.

024 

I did not make the veggies burgers.  I bought some Dr. Prager’s Asian veggie burgers from the freezer case at Giant Eagle.  I figured I could throw em on the grill and they’d be a lot easier than homemade.  WRONG!  They turned to mush and were barely edible.  Learn from my mistake.  Don’t grill veggie burgers. 

But we had good times at the Harva-que!  It was so nice to catch up with friends we haven’t seen in a while.

Sunday

Brunch at Eleven!  Might be my favorite brunch in the burgh. I got the asparagus, red pepper & goat cheese (egg white) omelet with burned well-done bacon and fingerling potatoes.  Those potatoes don’t look very appetizing, do they?  They were really good though.

026

We had another picnic and I took my standard corn salad.  I also made turkey burgers and they fell apart on the grill.  I was 0-2 on healthy burgers this weekend.  But it was another beautiful day with great friends so who’s complaining?

  021 

Monday

Jerry had a 7:40 tee time and when the alarm went off at 5:15 (what is wrong with us?!), I knew I wouldn’t be able go go back to sleep. So I sipped coffee on the patio and read a magazine while the world woke up.  It was peaceful and such a perfect start to the day. 

028 

More walks around the neighborhood (Jacob is getting me in great shape!).  I love this time of year.  Everything is super green and the spring flowers are so vibrant.  I am definitely loving living in the “country”. 

030 025

We met a group of friends at Red Fin Blues for a late lunch.  Redfin’s has become one of our favorite summer spots. It sits right on the Allegheny River in Washington’s Landing.  They have great food (all you can eat crab legs!) and we love watching the boats come in.  Great way to spend a lazy afternoon.

(I did not take this amazing picture). 

Now it’s back to the grind…looking forward to more summer weekends!!

Leave a Reply

