Weekend

4th of July Weekend Wrap Up

I can’t think of a better way to spend the 4th of July than at the beach!  What a weekend!

028

Despite the threat of Arthur, we were blessed with 2.5 amazing beach days during our trip to Fenwick Island, DE.  Skies just don’t get any bluer than this…

We started out our mini vacation with a trip to visit Jerry’s sister near DC.  I’m happy to report we had zero point zero trips to the Emergency Room this time around!  Jerry’s ulcer meds are working well.

We made a pitstop en route to DC at a rest stop on the turnpike.  Heaven on the Highway!  Pizza Hut, Starbucks AND Auntie Anne’s all in one place.  We were starting this trip the right way!

001

I reluctantly bypassed PH and Starbucks and headed straight for Auntie Anne’s…only to be told they were out of cheese.  WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU’RE OUT OF CHEESE?!?!  All the cheese too…nacho cheese, cream cheese and (my favorite), the cold, pasteurized cheese-product type cheese.  I had to settle for marinara. Whatever.  I made up for it by helping Jerry house a bag of Munchies (which, for the record, is pretzels, Sun-Chips, Cheetos and Doritos. All the good things).

002 003

We made excellent time and arrived @ 4:00ish.  We had some guacamole, salsa and chips and then freshened up before hitting Uncle Julio’s for dinner.  I don’t know why I forgot to take pictures (probably b/c I feel like a creepy weirdo photographing my food in public) but I had some amazing chicken and cheese & onion enchiladas.  #cheeseismyfavoritefoodgroup

We were out the door by 6:30 am the following morning and crossed the bay bridge with little traffic….

005

I had my feet in the sand by 10:30.  Yes, I know my feet look huge and really, who wants to see pictures of my feet?  But here they are…with BLUE toenails!  I generally stick with old school toe colors…red, coral, pink…but I decided to get funky for the holiday.  Don’t worry, I’ll catch up to 2014 by 2026.  Always a few steps behind the times…it’s part of my charm.

006

This is AT.  You may remember her from our girls weekend in Hershey.  She and her mom were our gracious hosts for the weekend.  Mrs. T has an awesome house about a mile from the beach.  I’ve known them since I was 15.  They’re like my family.

008

So after spending 4 or 5 hours on the beach, we came home and relaxed for a bit.  Then we hit the Crabcake Factory for dinner.  We got a seat right by the bay.  The weather was perfect!

041 042

This place is known to have amazing crabcakes and they ship them all over the country.  So much lump crab packed into a perfect little package.  Mac & cheese for life on the side.

009

Friday morning was a washout.  It rained all morning and early afternoon.  We Jerry and Amy watched some World Cup soccer and by mid afternoon, it had cleared up a bit.  AT took a nap and Jerry & I took a walk on the beach.  The waves were unreal!

013

We decided to make the spend the rest of the afternoon poolside.  I finally finished Gone Girl.  Not a fan of the ending…

014 015

Dinner Friday night was steamed seafood heaven from Rippons.

016

Peel and eat shrimp, little neck clams and some crabby cheese fries (which are as amazing at they sound) from Smitty Magee’s.  Plus some local white corn…sweet as sugar.

017 018

It was pretty cool in the evening and I was very glad I packed some fleece for the trip.  All fleece…all the time…

019

Saturday morning was picture perfect at the beach.

022

024   023

Saturday was also the day I made my way to Ocean Side Pizzeria for the world’s greatest cheesesteak!  I make a point to stop at Ocean Side every time I’m in Fenwick…I’ve been eating these sandwiches since 1989.  It’s nostalgia on a bun.

025  027

On the way to Ocean Side, I walked past the Stone’s Throw condo we stayed at 26 years ago.  They’ve done some updating but it looks the same.  Just with a fresh coat of paint.  AT & I met in Fenwick when we were 15 and my family stayed in this condo.  We also stayed here for the next 7-8 summers…I spent many hours lounging on those decks.

021

The town of Fenwick hosts a bonfire for the 4th and they do it up right.  There is a DJ, lots of activities for the kids and fireworks. It was a lovely end to our holiday weekend.

031   034

Jerry and I were up and at em at 5:45 on Sunday morning.  We wanted to make sure we were home in plenty of time to pick up Jacob at the Dog Stop (he stayed at the new Sewickley location…he had a ball!).  Home by 1:00 with plenty of time to get ready for the week.

Thanks for AT & Mrs. T for a lovely, relaxing weekend!

1 thought on “4th of July Weekend Wrap Up”

  1. Looks like you guys had a great trip! We were a little south of you on Chincoteague Island. Our bay bridge experience coming home, however, was awful! 16 miles of standstill traffic adding 2 hours to our drivetime. Ugh! But yes, fantastic beach weather over the holiday!

    “All fleece all the time” – haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

