Weekend

Weekend Wrap Up – Food edition

This was a nice relaxing, low key weekend.  The calm before the storm that is coming for the rest of the month.  I did a lot of cooking and not much else.

Margarita pizza with my patio grown basil, farmer’s market tomatoes and trader joe’s crust.  Very yum.

001 002

Shenot farm broccoli, Sutton Farm flank steak and sundried tomato & Asiago farro.  I am loving all of this local food!

006

We need to talk about this chicken.

009

Chicken is probably the #1 protein Jerry and I consume.  We usually grill it but sometimes bake or stir-fry it.  And while it’s very versatile, I get sick of eating the same grilled chicken every week.

I made these honey chipotle chicken bowls when we were still living on Shelley Street.  I was blown away by the flavor.  But as amazingly delicious as they were, I kinda forgot about it.  Until this week when I realized I had a 1/2 eaten can of chipotle chilies hanging out in my fridge.  I didn’t want to pitch them and remembered this chicken.  So I bought all the stuff and whipped it up Thursday night.  The ingredient list for the marinade is pretty long.  Especially if you’re like me and your chicken marinade typically consists of a bottle of Italian dressing.  But if you make it in the food processer or blender, it comes together pretty quickly.

Honey Chipotle Chicken from How Sweet Eats

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons adobo sauce, from a can of chipotles in adobo
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon honey mustard
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
4 garlic cloves, minced

Add the chicken breasts to a baking dish or ziplock bag and season with salt and pepper. In a bowl, whisk together the olive oil, adobo, honey, mustards, cilantro and garlic. Pour the marinade over the chicken, covering it evenly. Place it in the fridge and marinate for at least 2 hours, or even overnight.

I doubled the recipe and marinated the chicken for 2 days in the fridge.  Reserve some of the marinade to use as extra bbq sauce for dipping.  Jerry proclaimed this is the best grilled chicken I’ve ever made.  He is absolutely correct.

This is the infamous Shenot’s sweet corn and it is heaven on a plate!

011

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

Oh and we’re buying a house tomorrow.  No big deal.

003

1 thought on “Weekend Wrap Up – Food edition”

Leave a Reply

