Favorites

Friday Favorites #6 – House stuff

I know.  I have a lot of catching up to do.  Packing, unpacking, cleaning the old apartment, organizing…we’ve been super busy at Lot 256.  I promise so pics of how the place is shaping up.  But here are a few of my favorites from the new house thus far. 

New dining room table and chairs

I found these babies on Craigslist.  The set is from Ikea and was already assembled (score!).  The price was right, the table length was right and the (omgWHITE) chairs were right (the covers are washable)…so we picked it up as a nice in-between compromise until Jerry builds his table.  Now the pressure is off of him!  The table is 108” long but there are 2 removable leaves which drop it down to 60”.  We can resell it or reuse it as a desk or whatnot.  I’m thrilled with this purchase!

005  006

New Washer & Dryer

It is not normal to be as excited about these appliances as I am…but I’ve never claimed to be normal.  Jerry and I purchased these 2 beauties at HH Gregg over the 4th of July during The Biggest Sale of the Year.  We got a great deal on the washer and the dryer was an “out of the box” model that was reduced by almost 50%. 

We got the 4.7 CU. FT. Ultra Large High Efficiency To[ Load Washer w/ Waveforce…and the capacity this thing is crazy huge.  It’s super quiet and although I’ve only done a few loads, it’s a rockstar!  The dryer is the 7.3 CU. FT. Ultra Large Capacity Steamdryer and it’s been great thus far as well. 

I have a full post in the works all on appliances!  Try to contain your excitement.

015

Temporary Blinds

Jerry has very strong opinions on window treatments.  He knows what he likes but more importantly, he knows what he doesn’t like.  And because holygeez window treatments are expensive…we came up with a nice, cheap interim solution (we’re big on interim solutions in this house!).  Paper shades!  We bought these ones from Home Depot and while Jerry was out of town on business last week, my Dad came over to ensure I didn’t muck up the installation.  These are pretty foolproof but If there is a way to screw it up, I’ll find it.  They attach to the top of the window frame like a super stick post it and then you can clip up the length to your desired level.  There was some cutting involved (again, better left to my Dad than me) but they were pretty simple!  And now my neighbors are spared the free show.

016

Consignment furniture

The most adorable little consignment store opened in Wexford this summer.  I can’t remember the name of it to save my life but it’s by the Aldi on Rt. 19.  Anyway, I picked up a few things over the last few months.  And this little gem is one of them. 

Jerry rolled his eyes when I brought it home. “WHAT are you going to do with that thing?”  In his defense, it’s pretty huge.  And heavy.  But I have a thing for metal and fleur de lis so I bought it.  And it’s PERFECT on the wall in our stairwell. 

My Dad came to the rescue on this one too.  No way, no how was I getting that thing hung by myself.  But

017

So that’s that for this Friday.  More house updates to trickle in over the next week or so!!

Leave a Reply

