Favorites

September Favorites

HOW is it the last day of September????  This month flew by in a flash!  We had some of the best weather of the year and Jacob has been taking me on lots of long walks.

005

Friday favorites is too hard to keep up with…so I’m changing to monthly favorites.  Here are some of the things I’ve been loving lately.

Cenacolo

Jerry and I went to this new (to us) restaurant in Irwin for our Anniversary Dinner.  Cenacolo provided us with one of the best meals in recent memory.

September 17th was 3 wonderful years with this handsome guy.

007

We started out our meal with Fomaggio Fuso.  Wait until you hear this!  It’s this insanely yummy cheese melted in a skillet until it’s nice and gooey.  THEN they fill half of it with potatoes, leeks, pancetta and goat cheese and flip the other half over like a quesadilla!  The melty cheese is the tortilla!  It was insane.

003 004

Cenacolo makes their own pasta every day and it did not disappoint.  I had the Tagliolini which had crabmeat tossed in a light sauce of garlic, chives, lemon and parmesan cheese.  Jerry had the Rigatoni with hot sausage, banana peppers and roma tomatoes.

006  005

If you are in the Irwin/Greensburg area, GO!  Run to Cenacolo!  It’s BYOB too 🙂

Happy 3rd Anniversary to Team Soscia!

008

Chicken Spaghetti

I revisted one of my favorite comfort foods this month.  Pioneer Woman’s chicken spaghetti! I haven’t made this in ages…it’s happiness in a bowl.  I switched out the pasta for bowties and used a rotisserie chicken.  Oh, and I made my own cream of chicken soup too.

001 002

Hanging with our favorite kiddos

We’re pretty lucky that we now live so close to my brother and his family.  September brought us Fall soccer. Jerry and I are official members of the Sharks fan club. Look at the moves on this guy!

IMG_0346

unnamed

Ryan scored a goal in last weeks game!  Uncle Jerry taught him everything he knows.

And guess who does NOT cry every time her Aunt Jenny walks into a room???  This little munchkin!  I knew she’d come around.

001 (1)

Honeycrisp Apples

source

I picked up a bushel of honeycrisp apples from Shenot Farms a few weeks ago.   I know Soergels is the place to go around here for all the apple madness of Fall.  But I avoid that place at all costs in Sept/October.  It is madness!!  Shenot’s is a much smaller farm with exceptional produce and the apples are amazing.  I’ve been eating one of these babies every day.

And beginning  the last weekend in September and every weekend in October, plus Columbus Day, they offer hayrides to their pumpkin patch and corn maze.

It is a great way to spend an afternoon with your family, and it’s the perfect time to get your jack-o-lanterns, cornstalks, straw bales, decorative Indian corn–as well as delicious sweet corn, apples, cider, and vegetables.  Of course don’t forget to stop at the fudge counter!

The hayrides to the pumpkin patch and corn maze are from 11:00 A.M.to 5:00 P.M. Saturdays and Sundays.  Columbus Day hayrides are 1:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

Baby on Board

001

Our dear friends, Chiquta Banana and B-rad, are expecting their first baby in April!  They made it Facebook official yesterday (how cute is this announcement??).  We are so thrilled for them and can’t wait to meet Baby Banana in April!

Happy Fall to All!

.

1 thought on “September Favorites”

  1. I’ve been waiting for the anniversary update blog! Your dinners looked amazing. And thanks for posting a picture of your little niece – she’s gotten so big! Glad she doesn’t hate you. 🙂

    And yay! I made the blog! haha. I like the name Baby Banana. I think that might stick. 🙂 Happy Friday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

