The Beans

Secret Baby Files – 4 weeks

First week beta = 506!  We’re officially pregnant!

002

The Baby

Our baby looks like this right now.

001

Per whattoexpect.com

Despite its extremely tiny size, your little embryo is busy setting up house. While the amniotic sac (also called the bag of waters) forms around it, so does the yolk sac (don’t worry, you’re not having a chicken), which will later be incorporated into your baby’s developing digestive tract. And the embryo now has three distinct layers of cells that will grow into specialized parts of your baby’s body. The inner layer, known as the endoderm, will develop into your baby’s digestive system, liver and lungs. The middle layer, called the mesoderm, will soon be your baby’s heart, sex organs, bones, kidneys and muscles. The outer layer or ectoderm, will eventually form your baby’s nervous system, hair, skin and eyes.

Symptoms

Fatigue…I’m great in the morning but man, by 3:00, I need a nap!  I took 2 over the weekend…and I’m NOT a napper.  I’ve been getting into bed around 8:30 and fall asleep by 9:30.

Sleep…Asleep by 9:30…awake by 2:30.  I know insomnia is going to be a problem. I’m not happy about this.  I did sleep through the night 3 times this week so that’s promising.

Boobs…big and sore.  My bras barely fit but I know it’s going to get worse so I’m putting off buying new ones as long as I can.

Nausea…not much yet. I have a few moments here and there like I’ve had too much caffeine on an empty stomach.  A little dizzy and queasy, but it goes away quickly.  Hoping to keep it this way!

Smell…I have a super power!  Good grief, my sense of smell is off the charts.  Bad smells are SUPER bad and good smells are SUPER good.

Food.

Food tastes so amazing right now.  It’s like my taste buds are supercharged!  I’m trying to focus on healthy food because, well, because I’m growing our little person and I want a big, fat healthy baby.  And, I know food is going to be disgusting in a few weeks (I have no grand delusions that I will be one of those lucky women who doesn’t get morning/all day sickness) so might as well enjoy it while I can.

No aversions yet!

Exercise

I’m still pretty bloated from the extra hormones.  I’m about 10 lbs heavier for my starting weight than I’d like to be (also partially from the hormones).  But it is what it is.  I’ve been doing a lot of walking but not really much else in terms of exercise.  I’m hoping to get cleared for some yoga, Pilates, Zumba, light weight training, etc.  I know exercise helps with fatigue, promotes better sleep and just makes you feel better in general.

Mood

Great!  I think I’m just too thrilled at this point.  My mood has been great!  The only meltdown I had was when I found out we were pregnant. Lots of happy tears!

Jerry

My Rock. My Comedian. My BFF.  My Whole Wide World.  My Jerry.  He’s been nothing short of spectacular with everything baby.  From what got us here to where we are now.  I’d be a hot mess without him.  We are a great team and we’re going to be great parents!

And..he’s on top of everything.  We’re pushing extreme here.  At 8:30 pm…”OK, time for bed!  You need your rest”.  If I make a noise…”What’s wrong?!?!”.  At dinner…”Are you allowed eat that?”.  It’s cute albiet a little over the top. He’ll figure it all out.

Quote of the week…”How’s your uterus feel today?”

 

 

Leave a Reply

