The Beans

Secret Baby Files – 5 weeks

 Here are some updates on our babies…

002    003

Yes, you heard that correctly…babies.  We found out on Thursday that we have 2 gestational sacs.  Which means, we are looking at TWINS!

002

Per whattoexpect.com

It takes a lot of developing to become a baby — all the major (and minor) bodily systems (digestive, circulatory, nervous and so on) and organs (heart, lungs, stomach…you get the idea) have to form from scratch. One of the first systems to be operational is the circulatory (or blood) system — along with its companion organ: the heart, which you may even be able to see it beating on an early ultrasound. When you’re 5 weeks pregnant, your baby’s heart is made up of two tiny channels called heart tubes — and they’re already hard at work, beating to their own drummer (it will be weeks before those beats become coordinated). When those tubes fuse together, your baby will have a fully functioning heart (though it almost certainly already has its grip on yours). Also in the works this week are several other organs, including the neural tube (the precursor to your baby’s brain and spinal cord), which hasn’t yet sealed (but by next week, that open-door policy is over).

Symptoms

Bloat…I already look like I’m 16 weeks pregnant.  This could be due to 2 babies growing in there.  Or could be b/c I’m just prone to bloat.

Fatigue…I’m useless by 3:00.  So. Tired. And I’m pretty much done for the day by 8:30.

Sleep…Ugh…hit or miss.  I did something to my right shoulder and have been having a lot of pain.  I usually fall asleep on my left side but wake myself up when I turn over. OUCH.  It’s some sort of muscle thing probably aggravated by 90lb wooly mammoth I’ve been walking everyday around the hood.  In addition, 2:30 am seems to be the witching hour.  I usually wake up to pee and then stare at the ceiling for an hour or two.

Nausea…spin around in a circle for 60 seconds and then stop.  That’s the feeling that hits me several times a day. It’s short lived, so I’m not complaining.

Smell…Could you ladies please lay off the perfume?  Sheesh…you dab it, not drown in it.

Nails…they’re going at an alarming pace.  RB will be very proud!

Symptoms I don’t have (yet)

Acne…This is often a problem for a lot of women when pregnant.  And by this point I figured I’d look like a 14 year old boy.  But (knock on wood) thus far, my skin has been great.  I credit the Clairsonic and my favorite Peter Thomas Roth cleanser.  And water.  So much water.  That can’t hurt.

The big C…who wants to hear about my very active digestive tract?!?!  Constipation is a pretty standard complaint.  And one that I was certain I’d be cursed with.  Heck, I’m cursed with it when I’m NOT pregnant.  (TMI?  Too bad.)  Now I’m very regular!  That is all.

Food.

Still loving food.  I went to dinner with my girlfriends on Thursdays and was shoveling queso in my face at a lightening speed.  I’m sure it was a bit alarming….but it will all become clear in a few weeks.  I’m so thirsty all the time.  I chug ice water all day long.

No real aversions yet.  I made blackened salmon this week and while I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t want it.

Exercise

Lots of walking still.  I’m at about 30 minutes per day with an hour each weekend day.  I’m cleared for light weightlifting, easy cardio and swimming.  I’m hoping to add 15 – 20 minutes of strength training each day.  Need to stop hoping and start doing!!

Mood

For the most part…great!  I had one day where I felt like I was on the verge of tears all day.  And then I yelled at Jerry for 15 minutes about how messy & unorganized our house was.  He is amazing.  He didn’t even yell back :)…he just puts up with me until I’m done with my rant and then gives me a hug and I feel bad for taking my hormones out on him.

Jerry

In reference to the twins, Jerry is FREAKING OUT doing OK.  Of course he’s happy our babies are doing well but he’s a little concerned with the whole financial aspect of it.  I’m just going with the flow.  It will all work out.  We need scale back on some of the frivolous living we tend to do.  And we’ll probably be moving within the next 3 years but let’s just take it one day at a time. (Who am I???)

Quote of the week…”You’re gonna get so huge!”  Thanks honey.

1 thought on “Secret Baby Files – 5 weeks”

Leave a Reply

