The Beans

Secret Baby Files – 6 weeks

 001 002

Per whattoexpect.com

You might be coping with full-blown pregnancy symptoms (sorry), but there’s plenty of good news too. The folds of tissue in the prominent bump on top (the head) are developing into your baby’s jaw, cheeks and chin — what will eventually become one adorable face. And are those little indentations on both sides of the head the adorable dimples you always hoped your baby would inherit from your mom’s side of the family? No, they’re ear canals in the making. Small bumps on the face will form the eyes and button nose in a few weeks time. Also taking shape this week: her kidneys, liver and lungs, along with her little heart, which is now beating 80 times a minute (and getting faster every day).

Symptoms

Bloat Chub…getting dressed for work is becoming problematic.  My pants are already tight!  I’m going to need my own zip code by the time this is all over.  I hacked up a spanx tank top (the generic kind…not real spanx!) and fashioned myself a little belly band.  Most of my pants still button but it helps smooth out the muffin top that I’m sporting.

Fatigue…Let’s play a fun game.  Let’s take Unisom and then go to work.  Yay!  That is me.  All day long.  Getting up from my desk and taking a lap around the floor helps.  As does drinking tons and tons of water.

Sleep…oh so good.  Cannot get enough.  Barely any insomnia this week.

Nausea…No actual omgimgonnavomitrightnow episodes.  But I’m sure they’re coming.  I’m taking 25 mgs of B6 twice a day and drinking decaf peppermint tea like it’s my job.  So far so good!

Smell…Everyone in Western PA needs to stop smoking immediately.  Whyyyyyyyy do I have to get on the elevator with a flock of smokers just returning from their smoking huts???  Ugh, it’s seriously the grossest thing ever.  Maybe I’ll throw up on one of them.  Ahahahahaaaaaa!  That would be so funny.  I’ll bet I’d make the company newsletter!

Symptoms I don’t have (yet)

My skin is still glowing and my digestive system is a rockstar.  Yay me!!

No crazy starvation, although I’m not missing any meals.

Food.

I’ll take a order of carbs with a side of carbs…and why not add some extra carbs just in case.  I WANT ALL THE CARBS!  Especially the ones covered in cheese and butter.

And fruit.  Loving honeycrisp apples right now!

I’m so thirsty all of the time.  I swear I drink 2 gallons of ice water a day.  I know staying hydrated is super important and I play a game with myself.  I have a 12 oz class of water I keep on my desk.  I can’t use the bathroom until I finish it.  So basically I’m peeing every 15 minutes.

No serious aversions yet. Veggies sound pretty blah (hmmmm, can I cover then in butter or cheese???)  but they’re not making me sick.  Meat and Seafood is kinda meh.  I can take it or leave it.  And I think I’m done with my beloved hardboiled eggs for a bit.  I don’t hate them, but after I eat 1 half, I’m kinda like “yeah, no…” and toss the rest.

Exercise

Lots of walking still.  I’m at about 30 minutes per day with an hour each weekend day.  But that’s really it.

Mood

Just call me water works.  I’ve been crying at the drop of a hat.  You should have seen me picking out Jerry’s anniversary card.  It was embarrassing.  Most days I’m walking on sunshine (seriously, I walk around singing that song).  Maybe it’s the weather (it’s been perfection here lately), maybe I’m just geeked out to still be pregnant.  What ever it is…I’ll take it!

Jerry

Still overprotective. Still my hero.  He lets me go to sleep at 8:00 and doesn’t complain about Jacob duty.  He lets me hog the bed because I’m sleeping so well.  Dinner is whatever I’m in the mood for.  He painted the whole most of the garage by himself this weekend (and wooboy, does he hate to paint!).  He’s a peach.

Quote of the week…”I don’t think you’re supposed to eat caramelized onions while you’re pregnant”.  Huh???

Leave a Reply

