The Beans

Secret Baby Files – 7 weeks

 

008   009

We got to see our little Beans again!

006

It was so amazing.  We got to see their little heartbeats (Lima bean was 133 and Butter bean was 135) and the ultrasound tech said they looked perfect!  They were squirming all around and we could even see the umbilical cords.  I can’t even…they just became so real!

Per whattoexpect.com

Your baby’s approximately a quarter of an inch in length now — about the size of a blueberry. Sounds pretty tiny still? Consider this for a little perspective: Your baby is 10,000 times bigger now than it was at conception a month ago. At 7 weeks pregnant, most of that growth is concentrated in the head (the better to store all those smarts) as new brain cells are generated at the rate of 100 per minute. How’s that for a budding genius?

And talking about buds, your baby is going out on a limb this week. Its arm and leg buds begin to sprout and grow longer (and stronger), dividing into hand, arm and shoulder segments — and leg, knee and foot segments (though the limb buds look more like paddles than hands or feet at this early stage).

Also forming this week are your baby’s mouth and tongue. And although your embryo is just one month old, it’s already gone through three sets of kidneys. The ones in place now are the permanent set and are poised to begin their important work of waste management. In about a week, your baby will start producing urine. Lucky for you, there’s no need for diapers (yet). As your baby matures inside you, much of that urine will be excreted into the amniotic fluid, swallowed again by your baby and then excreted again in a continuous cycle.

 

Graduation

We officially graduated from the Reproductive Endocrinologist!  It is a bittersweet goodbye.  Those folks at Magee are amazing but I’m so ready to be a regular pregnant lady!  I know we were very open about round 1 and haven’t said much about round 2.  We didn’t want to have to make all of those calls (or write a another blog post) if it was unsuccessful and quite frankly, I’m sick of talking about infertility.   Sick. Of. It.

So, the IVF/Infertility subject is officially closed.  I’m sure yinz all can understand.  Now if you want to talk about how cute my bump is or my lovely pregnancy glow, let’s go!

Symptoms

Bloat…most of my pants still fit.  Not well, but they fit.  I bought about 20 pairs of pants and a bunch shirts off of ebay (for a grand total of $125)…I’m not breaking the bank on maternity clothes. I may need a few more things (like a winter coat!) but hoping to keep my pregnancy gear budget pretty small.

Allergies…I haven’t had do deal with seasonal allergies since high school.  But I’m spending my mornings buried in kleenex and eye drops.  Things usually clear up by noon

Fatigue…zzzzzzzz zzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzz zzzz zzzzzzz zzzzz.

Sorry, I fell asleep typing this.  Not too bad until 2:00/3:00.  Then I need to walk around a bit to wake up.  I guess I kind of overdid it on Saturday because Sunday I was wiped out!  I took a 3 hour nap.  I had about 15 things I wanted to get done so I’m pretty proud of myself for listening to my body.

Sleep…I told Jerry these Beans must be going through a growth spurt because they are sucking the life out of me!  Do not try to get me to do anything past 8:30.  There will be tears.  I fall asleep in 2.2 seconds and one night I didn’t get up to pee until 4:45am!!!

Nausea…the Beans have been very kind to me! I’m still taking 50 mgs of B6 everyday, so it could be a preemptive strike.  I have brief moments of yuckiness (that’s a technical term), usually if I eat too much, too fast.  But for the most part,  it’s all good in the hood!

Smell…Still a superpower.  Still hate cigarettes.

The big C…Ugh, it showed up this week.  I jinxed myself calling my digestive system a rockstar.  Now my moves are not like Jagger.  Must be all of the carbs and cheese I’ve been eating.  doyathink?!?!

Shots!

So for those of you new to the party, I had a blood clot in my leg in 2008. I was put on a blood thinner for 6 months (Coumadin is not for the faint of heart) and long story short, haven’t had any problems since (knock on wood).  But because I have a history of clots, and clots are more common in pregnancy, I am on a preventative, low dose of Lovenox (another blood thinner) until I deliver.

So in addition to the Progesterone in Oil shots Jerry has to give me until 12 weeks (these are the shots with the ONE AND A HALF INCH needle are injected into my butt muscle), I have to give myself the Lovenox shot every morning.  I do not remember these hurting but they are a SOB!  The needle isn’t the big deal but that medicine burns like crazy going in. I know…suck it up, buttercup.  It’s all for the greater good!

Food

This is my idea of heaven right now

001

A big plate of Mrs. T’s covered in hot sauce.  I finished this plate and had to leave the kitchen for fear I’d make more.  I ate some brussels sprouts too.  Bam…a vegetable!

Carbs are still my favorite thing on the planet.  And fruit slushies.  Equal parts frozen fruit & coconut water.  OMG, it’s heaven!  I’m loving pretty much all fruit.

sidenote:  My magic bullet bit the dust this week (I know Jerry…you had a perfectly good spare that I made you give away 3 years ago. I heard you the first 85 times you mentioned it).  I’ve put a Nutribullet at the top of my Xmas list.  Never fear, I have a Ninja that works great but for single servings, the Bullet is perfect.

No real aversions, just not too interested in meat, veggies or hard boiled eggs right now.  I’ll eat them, but only under protest.

Exercise

FAIL.  FAIL. FAIL.

Mood

Very weepy.  Honey boo boo finale…waterworks. Eric the Actor tribute…waterworks. ASPCA commercial…waterworks.  Boo hoo hoo…all the live long day.

Very irritable.  I go through these moments where I just want everyone to stop talking.  Not just talking to me. Talking in general.  People are pretty annoying if you stop and listen to them.  I can’t tune them out and I just want them to SHUT UP!.

Very happy.   This is my mood 90% of the time.  I’m still thrilled to be pregnant and am carrying around an attitude of gratitude (good grief, now I’m the annoying one).

I’m all over the place.

Jerry

Quote of the week…”Are the Beans hungry for ice cream?”

Leave a Reply

