The Beans

Secret Baby Files – 10 weeks

 008_thumb.png 007_thumb.png

Baby’s Bones Develop
Your baby’s growth is fast and furious when you are 10 weeks pregnant. He or she is nearly an inch and a half long and the size of a prune, but not nearly as shriveled (even with all the time spent in water). In fact, your baby is really taking a human shape now. Bones and cartilage are forming and small indentations on the legs are developing into knees and ankles. The arms (complete with elbows) can flex already (how is that for magical?), but don’t run to the store for a baseball bat just yet. Though your baby’s arms are taking shape and getting stronger, each one is only about the size of this number 1.

Baby’s First Teeth
The tooth bud fairy is making her appearance this week, heralding the arrival of your baby’s little choppers, which are forming under the gums. (Those pearly whites won’t break through the gums until your baby is close to six months old). Other systems are a go, too. Your baby’s stomach is producing digestive juices, the kidneys are producing larger quantities of urine and, if your baby’s a boy, he’s already producing testosterone (how manly!).

Bump

The bump is out loud and proud.  I’m not a big fan of the belly band so I’m jumping right in with maternity pants.  I wore my first pair of jeans this weekend and they are amazing!  Just like pajama jeans!  Why don’t they make all jeans like that??? 

Weight Gain

Day 1 of week 10 I was down 1.5 lbs (total gain +1).  I mentioned this to Jerry who replied “I find it hard to believe you lost a pound and a half”…as he stared at my booty struggling for air in my way-too-tight pants.  (Jerry and I need to have a talk about kid gloves and hormonal pregnant women.)  Day 6 of week 10, I was down another pound which puts me down –0.5 from my starting point. 

I find this shocking, quite frankly.  I’m riding the carbohydrate train…HARD.  And I eat all day long.  I haven’t been eating much meat or veggies and I’m going to make that a priority for this next week (I know I need more protein). And given the size of my belly, I would think I’m up at least 5 lbs.  Add it to the list of things to discuss with my doctor.

Symptoms

Fatigue…I’m rockin out the days with little fatigue.  And I can stay up until around 9:30 most nights!!  I’m so looking forward to the 2nd trimester burst of energy! 

Sleep…it’s been amazing this week.  Despite being sick, I was able to get a full nights sleep every night with minimal trouble.  Asleep by 9:30 up by 5:30.  I’ll take 8 glorious hours of shut eye!  And the crazy movies that play in my head are a bonus.  So many bizarre dreams!!  Super vivid and totally out there.  I think that means I’m having a very deep slumber.

Smell…bad breath, public restrooms, cigarettes, heavy perfume.  Get away from me!!!  But I can smell the cinnamon rolls in our cafeteria from 3 floors away.  Come to mama!

Excess Saliva…I read about this symptom on Pregnant Chicken and my first thought was “Pregnant chicks complain about everything!  Suck it up!”.  And then I choked on my own mouth secretions (I have an issue with the word “spit”) in the middle of a staff meeting and realized it’s an actual thing.  I assumed it would be like drool running out of the corners of my mouth.  Nope.  It’s all of this liquid in the back of your throat.  And you don’t realize it’s there until you try to swallow and then you start choking.  Awesome.  And disgusting.  Awesomely disgusting. 

Food

I started making freezer meals.  Yes, at 10 weeks pregnant I’m stocking up for a long winter.  Who knows if I’ll have to be put on bed rest.  And if not, how much cooking will I really want to do when I’m the size of hippopotamus?  So I’m taking a couple days a week and just doubling my recipes.  Right now I have stuffed shells and chili waiting for us.

005

Love:  La Croix Grapefruit and PASSIONFRUIT!!, Pasta, bagels and cream cheese, beef and bean burritos, grilled cheese, spinach, frozen grapes, egg sandwiches, twizzlers.

Don’t Love:  Meat (unless it’s ground beef), cooked veggies (unless it’s spinach), salad without ranch dressing.

Exercise

Just walking.  Lots of walking. 52,447 steps this week.  Not great but I had 5 days of 30+ active minutes.

Gender Prediction

This week my prediction went from two girls to two boys, based on the old wives tale that girls steal your beauty.  My skin and hair are still reacting fabulously to this pregnancy! 

Mood

I would say good for the most part.  I just feel happy.  I still have moments of “everyone just stop talking” and I get a little grumpy.  My cure for grumpy is silence.  Or a 30 second flip out where I just swear a lot.  Jerry hates this but it’s amazing how a few curse words can change my mood.

High/Low of the week

High…Really feeling pregnant! 

Low…Finding out the next Royal Baby will be born in April.  The beans only want to share the spot light with Baby Banana.

Jerry

Bless his heart, but Jerry is in complete denial about the real estate this baby bump is going to cover.  I love that he thinks I’m going to remain a dainty flower at 9 months pregnant, however, that’s not the goal.  I don’t have intentions of packing on 100 lbs but a good amount of weight gain for Moms of Multiples is 45-55 lbs.  And that makes for one giant belly.  I told him to google 36 week twin baby bump.  He still insists I’ll never look like that!  So sweet…

Quote of the week (in reference to my maternity jeans)…”You’re never wearing regular jeans again, are you?” 

Leave a Reply

