The Beans

12 Weeks pregnant with twins

The baby files are no longer secret!  And we hit our first goal.  12 weeks!  Just about 1/3 of the way there…seems surreal.

 008   009

Per whattoexpect.com

By now your baby weighs a full half-ounce, with a crown-to-rump length of about two and a half inches — about the size of a large plum. It’s hard to believe (especially from the outside, since you’re probably barely showing at this point), but your baby has more than doubled in size during the past three weeks.

This week marks a turning point for your baby. At 12 weeks pregnant, the herculean task of developing new bodily structures is nearing an end, as most of your baby’s systems are fully formed – though there’s still plenty of maturing to do. Now comes the maintenance phase, during which your fetus’ systems continue to mature for the next 28 weeks and the organs get to work. For one thing, the fetal digestive system is beginning to flex its digestive muscle — literally — as it starts beginning to practice contraction movements, a skill your baby will need after birth to push food through the digestive tract. The bone marrow is busy making white blood cells — weapons which will one day help your baby fight infection once he’s out of your safe haven (including all those germs passed around the snot-nosed playgroup). And the pituitary gland at the base of the brain has started producing the hormones that’ll enable him (or her) to make babies of his (or her) own babies in a couple of decades or so.

Bump

Here is the first official bump photo!

028

Not so big in the morning but by 8:00pm…whoa.  It’s big.  My uber slow digestive tract is contributing to the bigness, which is really annoying.

Ultrasound – 11w6d

The first ultrasound I’ve ever had where I got to keep my pants on!

SOSCIAJENNIFERL20141028142711653

Lima Bean – 4.9 cm long, measuring 11w5d, HR 153

SOSCIAJENNIFERL20141028143024489 (1)

Butter Bean – 5.5 cm long, measuring 12w1d, HR 167

*For those of you needing a little help with the acronyms…cm=centimeters; w=week; d=day; HR=heart rate.  

Aren’t our babies beautiful?!?!  Hands down, this was one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen!  And yes, I know things just get way cooler from here.  Those little beans were flipping and flopping all over the place.  We got to see their little arms and legs and spines.  Butter bean had her legs crossed, which now makes me believe she’s a girl!  I just love them so much…

Twin Stuff

So let’s talk a little bit about our whole twin situation for a minute.  I’ve been getting some questions so I’m hoping this helps.

Our twins are not identical.  Identical twins (or Monozygotic twins) occur when a single sperm and a single egg hook up and form a blastocyst.  This “blast” then splits in two, creating 2 separate embryos.  Identical twins will always be the same sex.  Obviously.

That did not happen with us.  Our RE indicated that, due to my age and other factors, the likelihood of multiples was very low. He suggested we transfer 2 of our little “blasts” for the greatest chance of a successful procedure.  We all know how that turned out.  Of course these “blasts” could have split once they were transferred, leaving us with 4 babies (or more!).  But not to worry, we have confirmed that did not happen!  Whew!

So our twins are fraternal (or dizygotic). They each have their own placenta, which is providing them all of the blood and nutrients they need.  And in my case, the placenta is posterior.  This means it’s attached to the back of my uterus and I should be able to feel the babies move sooner than later.  If the placenta is in the front (and in front of the babies), it can take longer to feel them wiggle.

A friend pointed out that it’s possible that one of the blasts we transferred could have split while the other didn’t stick.  I hadn’t even thought of this possibility but considering their are two separate sacs and two placentas, I’m guessing that didn’t happen.

How I’m feeling

95% of the time…I’m feeling pawesome (that’s for you RB!).  I don’t know how I escaped the first trimester without morning/all day sickness but I am so lucky that I did!  It’s still lights out by 9:30 but the daily fatigue is pretty much gone.  No aches or pains (yet), no headaches, no heartburn.

Round ligament pain is picking up, but it’s still not terrible.  I’m having major digestive issues (i.e. nothing is happening) and that’s making me bloated and uncomfortable.  My whole ribcage is expanding (including the boobs) and I’m finally going to bite the bullet and buy new bras.  But if that’s all I have to complain about, I’m way ahead of the game.

Gender Predications

Ugh, I just don’t know!  Old wives tales say…heart rates above 140 often indicate girls.  Could my original predication of TWO GIRLS be correct!?!?  Gah!!  I want to start buying bows and glitter and everything pink!!  167 is pretty high.  Just saying….

I’m going with one of each.  Butter Bean is a girl, Lima Bean is a boy.

First baby purchases

I bought these 2 years ago.  10 was Jerry’s high school soccer number.   They look huge in this picture but they are teeny tiny!  I can’t wait to get a squirmy little baby in them.  And we can strap a tutu on one or both if needed!

005

 Food

I ate a real meal this week!  And it was chicken!  I had a craving for chicken cordon bleu so I went for it.  Truth be told, I had a craving for this amazing Parmesan-Dijon cream sauce you slather all over it…but I couldn’t just eat a pot full of sauce (could I??).  So, so good.  I made brown rice and peas and Jerry ate two helpings (poor guy has been so cooperative of my pasta-bender).  I’m back!!

I also made a pan of dark chocolate brownies (from a box…Ghirardelli’s.  They are insane.).  And I ate 2 of them.  The Beans must have a sweet tooth.  Because their Mother certainly does not.

Love:  cheeseburgers, pasta, honey crisp apples, salad with ranch dressing, bagels and cream cheese, grilled cheese, spinach, frozen grapes, ground beef, clementines

Don’t Love:  Meat, HB eggs are off this list again.

My fish oil pill is supposedly “strawberry flavored”.  This is total BS!  I still take it everyday because it’s good for the Beans. But that fishy aftertaste lingers for hours.  Bleh!

Exercise

Just walking.  56,268 steps this week and only 1 day of 30+ active minutes.  Not my finest performance :(.

Sleep

Sleep is mostly good. We’re averaging one night of insomnia.  Not too shabby.

Mood

I’ve been kind of a pill this week.  Not the whole time but I definitely have moments where things just get to me.  None of it’s pregnancy stuff, just everyday stuff.

Most of the time I’m pretty happy though!

High/Low of the week

High… so many!  No more progesterone shots!!  Our ultrasound was amazing.  Telling our friends and family about the twins was amazing.  Knowing we have two healthy Beans cooking was super, duper amazing!

Low…waking up at 1:30 am and not falling back to sleep.  That kinda stinks.

Jerry

Jerry is his usual amazing self.  He puts up with my grouchy mood swings and takes care of business when I go to sleep at 9:00.  He’s a peach.

2 thoughts on “12 Weeks pregnant with twins”

  1. I haven’t been able to eat much meat either! People always give me weird looks, especially if they know me because I normally am a huge steak eatin’ girl.
    Just a hint… I always take my fish oil at night so I don’t taste it all day long. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

