The Beans

First Trimester Observations

As we’re officially in the second trimester, I wanted to jot down some notes about Trimester One.  So I can look back in another 13 weeks and laugh…

Not everyone gets morning sickness

I read a lot of blogs and have read hundreds of pregnancy journeys.  When I would get to one where the expectant Mom gleefully exclaimed “I can’t believe I haven’t gotten nauseous or sick one time!”…I’d just shake my head.  Shut. UP!  Just shut up, you big dummy.

So I completely understand if you want to throat punch me after reading that I didn’t really get sick.  I had a few moments of dizziness and nausea and honestly, I can’t imagine feeling like that all day, everyday for 10, 12, 18, 36 weeks.  I am so sorry for those of you who have suffered (my poor Chiquita). 

I didn’t stuff my face

I’ll admit, I was really looking forward to this part.  This mama loves to eat!  And after reading When You’re Expecting Twins… where I was instructed to eat 582 million calories a day, I figured it wouldn’t be much of a problem.  Considering I had a pretty hefty appetite to begin with. 

But I haven’t really been all that hungry.  Definitely not ravenous.  I’m not missing any meals, but I get full quickly.  There haven’t been any of the wake up in the middle of the night to nosh sessions I have read about.  And I’m usually up for a few hours before I eat anything.  Booooooooo!  I’m 100% ok with that changing.  And I expect it too.  I’ll be smack dab in the middle of my second trimester during the holidays!  Strap on the feed bag!

I don’t pee a lot

At least not anymore than I did BB (Before Beans).  I have gotten up at least once to pee in the middle of the night for as long as I can remember.  I drink a lot of water and I know that contributes to it.  And I have a teeny bladder and I can’t stand feeling that it’s full.  So I guess I’m used to going a lot. 

TMI alert…But the real thing that has surprised me is the volume when I do go.  It’s just not very much.  Even with all of the water I drink.  The doctors seems unconcerned so I guess I should be too.  But I think it’s odd. 

OK, enough about pee.  Let’s talk about boobs

The girls are out of control

They weren’t lying about this one.  I was excited about the big part…not so much about the sore part, but come on. How bad could it be?

They’re big, but not in a it’s so cool to finally have big boobs kinda way.  Big enough to make my bras suck.  Big enough get in my way.  Big enough to make my shirts look weird.  But not big enough to be fun. And they hurt, a lot.  I know this is gonna get way worse, too.  I’m just gonna say it.  Big boobs are overrated.

Moving on…

I’m not turning into a total head case

I am shocked, SHOCKED at how relaxed I’ve been these first 12 weeks.  By nature, I’m very anxious and a horrible worrier.  These Beans kinda took over and just said “Chill out, Mom…we got this”.  I’ve made the conscious choice not to read sad stories and worst case scenarios.  The internet is a scary place and if you let yourself get sucked in, it can ruin everything.  This is my story, no one else’s.  My experience is mine (and Jerry’s) alone…and it will turn out the way it’s supposed to.  It makes no sense to fixate on bad stuff.  I know the risks involved.  I know the potential issue that could arise.  But I’m taking things one day at a time and enjoying the ride. 

All I can do is pay attention to my body and take good care of it.  Not to worry Beans, I’m on it!

Pregnancy agrees with me

I really like being pregnant!  I think the changes that are happening to me are pretty cool.  And I’m digging the bump.  Grow belly, grow!  I may have mentioned a few times before…my skin and hair and nails LOVE being pregnant!  I haven’t been super grouchy.  I’m in a pretty fantastic mood most of the time.  Go ahead, say it.  Shut up, you big dummy!

I know, let’s talk in March.  I’m a big fan of complaining and will be doing plenty of it as the symptoms show up:).  No need to throat punch me yet…

2 thoughts on “First Trimester Observations”

  1. Loved your observations – I share many of them (except the morning sickness, which I do NOT want to punch you over. So thrilled you didn’t go through this!). I agree that for the amount of water I drink, I am not peeing as much as I should. I even said to Brad yesterday that the baby must be drinking it all. haha. My appetite is growing now in the 2nd trimester, so I’m guessing you’ll get to that stage. I still snack throughout the day, but last night I had a big (too big) bowl of pasta and it was delicious!

    Like

  2. So exciting to find your blog Jenny! Except for the nausea (which did come back for me a little bit this week) I have had a lot of the same observations so far. Glad to hear it all from someone else. 🙂
    Going to check out the rest of your blog and I look forward to seeing your updates!

    Like

Leave a Reply

