The Beans

13 Weeks pregnant with twins

Second Trimester baby!  I can’t believe I’m in it!  I get all teary thinking about how lucky we are to have made it this far.  Wow. Seriously…just Wow.

 003  004

Per whattoexpect.com

Fetal Growth Rates

What’s up with your baby? Well, besides being as large as a peach now, that big old noggin of hers is now about half the size of her crown-to-rump length (that’s one reason why your little peach looks more like an alien from outer space at this point). By the time you give birth, her body will catch up, measuring three-quarters of her total size. But don’t compare your fetus with the fetus next door. Starting about now, babies begin growing at different paces, some faster than others, some more slowly, though they all follow the same developmental path.

Baby’s Vocal Cords Are Developing

What else is going on in there? At 13 weeks pregnant, tiny bones are beginning to form in her arms and legs. Because she can move them in a jerky fashion, she may be able to get her thumb into her mouth (a habit that may come in handy for self-soothing when she’s a newborn). Your baby’s intestines are also in for some big changes. Up till this point, they’ve been growing in a cavity inside the umbilical cord, but now they’re moving to their permanent (and more conveniently located) address, in your baby’s abdomen. And to serve your growing baby’s needs, the placenta is also growing. It weighs about an ounce now and will weigh one to two pounds at birth (something else you’ll soon be able to blame your weight gain on!). Also developing this week: your baby’s vocal cords (the first step toward saying, ‘I love you, Mommy!’). Because sound can’t travel through your uterus (your baby’s current habitat), you won’t be able to hear any sounds or cries just yet, but oh boy (or girl) — those vocal cords will get a good workout once baby is born.

Bump

We’re at that annoying point where the maternity clothes are too big and the regular clothes are too small.  I’m rotating about 3 outfits right now.

A couple notes about these pictures.  1.  They are very awkward to take.  Or maybe I’m just awkward.  2.  I was actually thinking I was looking pretty small until I saw this photo.  Oooffa!  The picture doesn’t lie.  3.  I had a bit of a sob fest before this picture, hence the puffy eyes and Medusa hair.

And I think I’m doing them wrong.  I’m actually 13w6d in this picture, so almost 14 weeks.  I’m going to try to start taking them over the weekend so I’ll be at the midpoint for the week.

003

How I’m feeling

I’m still feeling pretty fabulous!

I’m having some non-Bean related issues that are annoying.  I have a jacked up knee that tend to get sore when the weather changes (cue the old as dirt jokes).  I’ve dealt with this knee thing since college.  And I have 2 messed up toes…I don’t know what the deal is with these stupid toes.  My pinky toe and my “ring” toe on my left foot have curled under over the past year like two little a claw toes (it’s very attractive).  If I use a spacer between the ring toe and the middle toe, they’re ok.  But I should probably see a podiatrist at some point.

I’m having some growing pains in my stomach.  In addition to the round ligament pain, my abs are sore like I’ve been maxing out on my planks.  Rest assured, I haven’t done a plank in months!

Lack of digestion still sucks.  I only get really cranky about it after 4 or so days.  Please don’t tell me to drink more water/take a probiotic/eat more fiber/buy prunes…been there, doing that.  It just is what it is…

New symptom for this week is shortness of breath.  Jerry asked me the other day why I kept sighing.  Normally, this is a sign that I’m feeling overwhelmed or anxious but everything is peachy.  I told him that I didn’t even notice it.  Then I was walking with Jacob up a (low-grade) hill and was totally out of breath at the top.  Turns out, it’s a normal part of pregnancy!  per whattoexpect.com  pregnancy hormones (the usual suspect) stimulate your brain to increase the frequency and depth of your breaths, allowing you to take in more oxygen for your growing baby babies-to-be. Those hormones also swell the capillaries in your respiratory tract and relax the muscles of the lungs and bronchial tubes, making you feel like you’re sucking wind after nothing more strenuous than a trip to the fridge.

Baby purchases

I told Jerry we should be purchasing a case of diapers each month to create ourselves a nice little stockpile.  Then Stephanie sent me a ebates notice that diapers.com has double cash back & $10 off your first diaper order.  So yeah, I bought diapers this week.

Food

I enthusiastically proclaimed this week “Friday night we’re having meatloaf, mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts for dinner!”,.  Jerry’s response…“Well that sounds…light”.  Poor guy is just begging for grilled chicken salad.  It’s coming, I promise!

I know, this plate of food looks disgusting.  I’m posting it anyway.  It was amazing!

001

After our light Friday night meal, we had yogurt.  Coconut with almonds and chocolate chips.  Yes, I did!

002

We went to Sienna Mercato for dinner on Saturday.  We had a 2 hour wait and I was ready to eat my hands by the time we sat down.  The waitress came over to take my order.  “I’ll have a turkey meatball slider, mac & cheese, a salad with ranch and an order of fried pickles.  And I’m pregnant so don’t judge”.

All for meeeeeee!

003

I only ate the salad, a few bites of mac & cheese and 200 fried pickles.  Not the healthiest meal.  The slider and remaining mac & cheese were fabulous reheated the next day!

I also had a very health conscious friend ask me if I was eating a super clean diet due to the Beans.  BAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA!  Sorry, dude…no.  I’m eating carbs and cheese like it’s my job.  But I love fruit!  His response…”fruit has tons of sugar”.  Yes, yes it does.   Men are clueless about the power of hormones…it’s cute.

Speaking of fruit, Clementines are my favorite thing right now.  I could eat a truckload of them!

Love:  honey crisp apples, salad with ranch dressing, bagels and cream cheese, ground beef, clementines, egg sandwiches, yogurt, anything spicy.

Almost like:  chicken, shrimp, salad w/o ranch

Don’t Love:  fish, HB eggs

Exercise

Just walking.  65,415 steps this week and 5 days of 30+ active minutes.  I ordered some prenatal yoga DVDs…I’m super excited to try them out.  (Chiquita…come on over to the Lot256 yoga studio!)

Sleep

Sleep is mostly good. Check out my rockin Friday night!

005

3 potty trips and a bunch of flopping around…but 9 hours of zzzzzzzzz.  Bliss!

Mood

I’ve been kind of a pill this week.  Not the whole time but I definitely have moments.  Jerry said I haven’t been too bad and he would know.  I’m still pretty emotional.  I think about finding out the gender of the Beans and I start blubbering. I watched Nine Months this weekend (that movie is super ridiculous) & when Hugh Grant is watching a video of the ultrasound and gets all choked up…game over.

High/Low of the week

High…after a trip to IKEA, we have a pretty good idea of what we’re doing, furniture wise.  Can’t wait to find out what these Beans are so I can get to decorating!  I’m still thinking we’re having one of each.

Low…just my dumb claw toes

1 thought on “13 Weeks pregnant with twins”

  1. I feel so awkward taking those pictures too, but I think you look great!! I also love adding disclaimers when I order food. When we were in Vegas a couple weeks ago, for breakfast one day I ordered Cap’n Crunch, a side of bacon and a side of sweet potato fries!

    Like

Leave a Reply

