The Beans

14 Weeks pregnant with twins

003   004

 

Per whattoexpect.com

Baby Is Standing Up Straight
Growing by leaps and bounds, your baby is leaping and bounding. Now the size of your clenched fist, your baby is on the move almost constantly — and those movements are a far cry from those jerky twitches of last trimester (though you won’t feel any of them for weeks to come). They are now ballet-like, smooth and fluid. Speaking of ballet, it’ll be years before you’ll start nagging your offspring to stand up straight — but unbelievably, he or she is doing it right now, without any prodding! No slouch anymore, your baby’s neck is getting longer, helping his or her head stand more erect. This gives your fetus a more straightened-out appearance.

Baby’s Sprouting Hair and Lanugo
By week 14 of pregnancy, your baby could be sprouting some hair (though the final color may not be determined until birth) and the eyebrows are filling in, too. Hair growth isn’t limited to the baby’s head, though. He or she is also covered with a downy coating of hair called lanugo, largely there for warmth. Not to worry — you won’t give birth to a monkey: As fat accumulates later on in your pregnancy (the baby’s fat, not yours — though that will accumulate, too), it will take over the function of keeping your baby toasty so most of the lanugo sheds. Some babies, though — especially those born early — still have a fuzzy coating at delivery (it sheds soon afterward).

Other developments this week include a roof of his own (inside your baby’s mouth, that is) as well as intestinal activity: His intestines are producing meconium (which is the waste that will make up his first bowel movement after birth).

The Bump – 14w4d

IMG_0944

Well hello there, pointy bump!  I think the waistband on my leggings is making it look so weird.

It’s funny, the bump is all balled up right in the front.  Like you took a cantaloupe and put it under my skin.  I haven’t filled out much on the sides yet.  I’ve been using coconut oil after every shower to help keep the stretch marks under control.  Thus far, I have none.  Yeah, I know…it’s early.

I had my first “outing” this week at work.  A co-worker asked my boss if I was expecting and then she personally congratulated me.  She said “I saw you the other day and noticed a little extra weight around your belly.  You’re in such good shape so I figured you had some news.”  In such good shape???  That’s cute 🙂

Maternity Clothes

My Mom generously offered to take me shopping for some maternity clothes.  These were the first pieces I didn’t buy blindly off the internet.  It was nice to try a bunch of different styles of shirts and pants and see what fits my body best.

I’m not a big fan of form fitting shirts pre-Beans so I was surprised that I liked the long sleeve, bump hugging t-shirts.  Perfect base to throw a long cardigan over.  And I totally shocked myself with full panel pants!  I like that they go over my already expanding belly and keep everything smooth and even.

And, I bought a new bra.  Just one for now because I want to see how I like it (and it was expensive).  I asked one of the sales associates at Nordstrom to measure me so I had a better idea of my actual size.  I took off my shirt and she took one look at the poor girls shoved into my bra and said “Oh my.  That’s awful”.  Turns out I’ve graduated from a full B to a modest D. Yes, I said D!   I couldn’t stop laughing…and neither could Jerry when I told him.  I probably could have fit into a C cup but I’m only 14 weeks.  They’re not getting smaller anytime soon!   And let me just tell you, I’m so much more comfortable!

How I’m feeling

Overall, still great.  Don’t hate me because I’m a happy pregnant person.  Most days are pretty darn fantastic…just a few little irritants here and there.

I wanted to avoid getting into the details of my bodily functions on this little blog but what the hell?  It’s life, it’s gross…deal with it.  I have gas.  I told Jerry I feel like a whoopee cushion that won’t deflate.  It’s all trapped in there and can’t escape and it’s awful.  You’re not supposed drink carbonated beverages because it apparently makes it worse.  But that’s the only thing that helps me.  So if you see me drinking a ginger ale, trust that I’ll be sounding off like a 14 year old boy in a burping contest. This and my back up digestive system will be the #1 topic addressed at next weeks doctor’s appt.

I’ve had some heart palpitations.  Just a few here and there.  #2 topic for the doctor’s appt.

The knee thing is going away.  The claw toes are still clawed.  The round ligament pain is there but not terrible.  I’m just bloated and gassy.

Food

I’m hungry!!  All the time!!  YAY!!

Healthy Food and I are friends again.  I’m back to eating a salad almost every day and chicken is not the devil it was a few weeks ago.  Shrimp sound delicious.

Likes:  Juicy fruit – Clementines, apples, blackberries, grapes…wishing more was in season right now.  Pizza (always), salad, greek yogurt, Thomas’ original english muffins, orange juice, dark chocolate almond milk

Don’t like…fish. That’s about it!

Sleep

It’s been all over the place.  Some fantastic nights…some nights like this.  Awake at 1:30.  Back to sleep by 4.

005

Baby purchases

I saw this beauty on Craigslist and it was a bargain at $35!  I don’t love the color but we Jerry can paint it.  It’s really sturdy and well build and is the perfect size for the nursery.

FullSizeRender

Speaking of the nursery, I also found this print on RH Baby and was instantly smitten!

Baby Elephant

Could you ever be in a bad mood looking at this little guy???

I didn’t want the nursery to be too cutesy or “baby-ish”.  And I’m just in love with these modern, sweet, simple photos that are perfect for a baby’s room but will transition easily to other parts of the house once they’re older.

Baby Giraffe Little DarlingBaby Zebra Little Darling

I ordered 6 prints from The Animal Print Shop, which was much less expensive alternative than RH Baby.

High/Lows

High…getting started on the nursery!  We’re moving Jerry’s office downstairs and then we can work on getting things set up

Low…another cold!  UGH!  This one is bronchitis (according to Dr. Google).  At the very least, it’s crazy chest and head congestion.  I imagine the only thing worse than getting sick while pregnant is getting sick with two little munchkins to take care of.  Better suck it up, Buttercup.

Jerry

Jerry got a new job! He really liked his old job but this one leaves more room for growth.  And he gets a company car!  He works so hard and it’s fantastic that he can be rewarded for that. I’m so proud of him!!

2 thoughts on “14 Weeks pregnant with twins”

  1. Congratulations to Jarrad!!! That’s really exciting and definitely deserved. I LOVE the prints for the nursery – very unique and not too over the top “baby.” Very awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

