The Beans

17 Weeks pregnant with twins

003 004

per whattoexpect.com

My how your baby has grown!
Your little one weighs about three and a half ounces and is about the size of your palm (or about five inches long). Body fat (baby’s, that is) is beginning to form and will continue to accumulate through the end of your pregnancy (join the club, baby!), so that by the time you give birth it will make up about two-thirds of his or her weight. Baby’s heart is now regulated by the brain (no more random beats) to beat 140 to 150 times per minute — about twice as fast as yours! And since practice makes perfect, your baby is sharpening his or her sucking and swallowing skills in preparation for that first (and second…and third) suckle at your breast or bottle. In fact, most of the survival reflexes that your baby will have at birth are being perfected in-utero right now

Fingerprints Are Forming
Here’s some proof that your baby is truly one of a kind (as if you needed any!). Within the next week or so, the pads on your baby’s fingertips and toes will become adorned with completely individual swirls and creases (aka fingerprints).

Baby’s Startled By Noise
Your baby is almost certainly listening up by now. In fact, loud noises — the dog barking, the doorbell ringing — will actually startle your baby (and also get him or her used to such noises — for instance, fetuses who regularly hear a dog barking will become babies who sleep right through Fido’s outbursts.  Jacob was happy to hear this). Your baby’s eyes (which have fortunately finished their migration to the front of his or her head) are making small side-to-side movements and can even perceive some light, though the eyelids are still sealed.

Bump – 17w5d

Yeah, so…last week when I was complaining that I should be bigger?  Well, the Beans must have been listening.  Jerry was out of town for a week and his only comment when he saw the bump was “Whoa”.

Whoa! (I’m “sucking it in” in this picture too.)

 17

Beans

So let’s take a look at what our little Beans are up to right now.  If you could look inside my belly, you would see something like this.  Cool, huh?

image via Babycenter.com

According to our last ultrasound, Lima Bean is on the bottom closest to my cervix and Butter Bean is right above him.  They have their own little apartments in there and I’m sure they’ll be kickboxing in no time!

So it would stand to reason that all of this growing and smooshing of my organs would leave my innards a bit sore.  I’ve really noticed that this week.  Everything inside just feels bruised.  Similar to the feeling after you’ve had a colonoscopy, if you’ve had the pleasure of that lovely procedure.

Maternity Clothes

I currently have 2 pairs of normal pants I can still wear (they have a LOT of stretch in them) and I’m still able to wear all of my stretchy comfy clothes at home.  My normal shirts are starting to get too short, even the long ones.  And I always assumed that I’d like the low maternity pants with the waistband that sits under the belly.  Oh no…I’m full panel all the way!  They hold the belly in and smooth everything out.  I love them!  They look ridiculous by themselves, but I don’t care.  Jerry has a horrible poker face…he tries not to looked shocked when I’m getting ready for work in the morning but he can’t pull it off.

How I’m feeling

Overall I’m still feeling great.  I have no major ailments…just some minor things that are a normal part of pregnancy.  But because I have no problem complaining, here they are!

Heartburn – It’s not terrible but it’s annoying.  And kinda gross.  I’ve had a lot of stomach acid that settles in the back of my throat when I lay down at night too.  It’s really weird and makes me choke.  Thankfully, Tums are doing the trick right now.

Round ligament pain – It’s getting worse…mainly when I stand up from sitting for a long time. Just a quick OWWWW! and then it’s over.

Shortness of breath – I get winded so easily!  Walking up a flight of stairs warrants a good minute of recovery time.  I’m being very kind to myself and sitting down to rest after 10ish minutes of activity. Which means that mopping the floor takes 2 hours.  Whatever.

Pregnancy Brain

This is another “symptom” I used to laugh at.  Come on ladies…get it together!

Oh, it’s a real thing!  And it’s no joke.  I’ll routinely forget peoples names.  And not people I run into from high school, who I haven’t seen in 100 years.  It’s my boss. True story…he was talking to me one morning and I just looked at him, wracking my brain trying to remember his name.  Fortunately for my job security, it hit me after a couple of minutes.  But it’s crazytown!

Food

Well, we knew my little indifference with food wouldn’t last.  Hoo boy…this mama is HANGRY!  It hit me on day 1 of week 17.  I had a sandwich and salad for lunch and about 15 minutes after I was finished, I was famished again. I’m taking this as an excellent sign that the beans are growing.  Grow, Beans!  Grow!

Jerry was out of town this past week so naturally…this happened.

001

All mine!!  No, I could not wait to eat a piece before snapping a picture.  And Pizza Hut was having a deal on 2 mediums so who am I to pass up a bargain?  I love a good coal fired or brick oven pizza as much as the next pizza lover.  But I’ll always hit the Hut when I’m craving comfort food.  And holy geez…it was amazing!

Like…pancakes, (HOT) Italian hoagies, ranch dressing, pizza (always), any and all fruit, English muffins, greek yogurt w/ walnuts & honey, beef

Don’t like…fish, chicken

The only thing I really miss is iced tea.  That is my go-to beverage at restaurants and because I refused to give up my morning half-caff, I can’t partake in caffeine in the evenings.  This week, I just want a giant unsweetened iced tea from Chick-fil-a!  They do have caff-free diet coke though, and as I’m loving soda these days, it works.

Sleep

I hate to admit this because he’ll probably insist on sleeping in the guest room.  But Jerry was out of town on a business trip this past week and my sleep was amazing!  I took over the whole bed and one night didn’t even wake up to pee.  We’ve been talking about getting a king sized bed for a while (because, ya know…Jacob wants it) and it may be time to bite the bullet.  We’ll see.

I’ve talked to quite a few pregnant girls who are having the hardest time sleeping because of position.  i.e. they’re either back or stomach sleepers.  I’m super lucky because I’ve always preferred sleeping on my left side.  At least I start out in that position…I usually flop to the right side at some point.  So I’m not sleeping with a special pillow or a giant pillow fort.  At least not yet.

Movement

I don’t really feel them much during the day.  But when I lay down at night to wind down before sleep, there are lots of flutters and vibrations.  I had a little bout of insomnia this weekend and they were having a dance party at 2 am.  It was the most I’ve felt them and it was amazing!  Of course it was in the middle of the night and I guess I should just get used to it.

Baby Purchases

004

I’m constantly scanning Craigslist for good deals on baby items.  Imagine my delight when I saw an ad for TWO of the exact car seats we had registered for.  Cost for both was less than the cost for one so I snapped them up!  They were less than a year old and don’t expire until 12/2019.  And I had a lovely conversation with the Mom who was selling them and turns out, she has 1 year old boy/girl twins.  And she has a crapton of stuff she’s going to be getting rid of over the next year so naturally we’re gonna be BFFs.

Mood

Still blissfully content.  I know.  It’s annoying.  I just love this time of year, even with the cold.  And I still feel pretty great physically so I’m enjoying the ride.

I did flip out on Jerry once but I would have flipped out on him in the same scenario if I were not pregnant.  So it doesn’t count!

 

3 thoughts on “17 Weeks pregnant with twins”

  1. Beans are hittin’ the nutrients! Awesome. Amazing you already have car seats. It’s good to know an older set to be the recipient of. Consider joining a multiple’s club now so you can make some more twin momma friends!

    Xoxoxo

    Like

  2. Your mother-in-law shared your blog site and it was so fun to read, you are having all the same issues we women have shared together forever….great company!! You look fabulous for 17 weeks with twins!!!! If I had a vote it would be for a king bed…nothing better and to think you will soon add 2 babies to it, get one now!!!
    Aunt Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

