The Beans

18 Weeks pregnant with twins

002  001

Given that the average gestation of twin pregnancies is 35 weeks, we’re halfway there!  I’m hoping it takes longer but I feel like we’re hitting a pretty big milestone.

per whattoexpect.com

Baby Is Yawning
At five and a half inches long (remember, that’s crown to rump) and five ounces in weight, (about the size of that boneless chicken breast you’re making for dinner), your baby may be large enough now (or anytime in the next few weeks) for you to feel him twisting, rolling, kicking and punching his way around the womb. And now for the skill of the week: The art of the yawn has been mastered by your baby (you may feel those soon, too!). In fact, you might catch a glimpse of that adorable yawn and all those other fetal movements at your ultrasound this month.

Baby’s Nervous System Is Maturing Rapidly
Something you won’t see on the ultrasound — but you’ll learn is in working order — is your baby’s nervous system, which is maturing rapidly when you’re 18 weeks pregnant. Nerves, now covered with a substance called myelin (which speeds messages from nerve cell to nerve cell), are forming more complex connections. And those in the brain are further specializing into the ones that serve the senses of touch, taste, smell, sight and hearing. Talking about hearing, your baby’s is growing more acute, making your little one more conscious of sounds that come from inside your body (which means you could both be listening to each other hiccup!).

Bump – 18w5d

18 Weeks

I think this belly is fascinating.  It’s definitely not small, yet I forget it’s there sometimes.  I think I expected the sensation to be like I was super stuffed, all the time.  But it just feels like it always has.  However, bending over is becoming problematic.  Tying my shoes is uncomfortable and leaves me winded.  Shaving is going to be interesting as the weeks go on.  Thank goodness for bench seats in the shower!  I forgot how much a little nick the knee will bleed when on blood thinners!  Looks like a crime scene.

But I’m getting pretty comfortable with this belly.  I’m wearing fitted shirts for the first time in, well…ever.  It’s actually kinda cute at this stage.

And apparently, it’s not just my belly that’s growing.  Someone (whose name starts with a J and ends in erry) mentioned that my butt was getting big…in his defense, I did ask him to tell me this kind of information.  But as our cousin pointed out last night “Big butts are in”, so I’m very trendy! (xoxo Kaitlin)

Weight Gain

I gave in & weighed myself at home.  I’m up exactly 10 lbs from my pre-pregnancy weight. I have a doctor’s appt on the 19th so I’ll get a better idea of how we’re doing then.

How I’m feeling

So overall I’m still feeling good.  Really, I have no complaints 90% of the time.  But I’m starting to feel it.  Body aches, sore joints and an overall feeling of being heavy.  Not sure which of these are pregnancy related or advanced maternal age related.  Probably a bit of both!

Some things in particular to note:

I had some back pain at the beginning of the week.  Actually it’s more like a pain in the butt.  It’s concentrated on my left side and has settled in my hip/upper butt cheek area.  At first I thought it was sciatic nerve pain, but Dr. Google indicates that is pretty rare.  But it hurts!  Especially when I stand after sitting a while or when I walk a long time.  I’ve actually been having pain in my left hip, left knee and of course, my dumb claw toe (which effects my whole left foot).  By the end of the week, the butt pain is gotten better.

I’ve started getting really uncomfortable after eating.  Small, light meals are definitely the way to go.  My belly gets huuuuggee and I feel so bloated and heavy.  We had a holiday potluck in my office and I was miserable afterward.

Heartburn has been in check, so that’s good.  No headaches.  Plumbing is still backed up, but it’s not terrible.  My skin is still glowing and my hair, while it really needs a trim, is super healthy.  Not too shabby.

Movement

Nothing really noticeable during the day.  But when I lay down at night, I get cozy and they start dancin!  It’s a very strange feeling.  Lots of vibrating and fluttering.  I can’t wait to see if they are positioned where I think they are.

Sleep

3:30 am is my new wake up time.  No need to set the alarm, my bladder takes care of alerting me.  Then I lay in bed for 45 minutes until I can’t take it anymore.  It’s no use trying to fall back to sleep, my brain just won’t shut off.  After 2 nights of crappy sleep, I took a 1/2 of a Unisom Sleeptab before bed.  Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.  Hallelujah!

Food

Who loves Coco Krispies???  I do! I do!  I haven’t eaten them since I was 13 but I am now!  OMG, I’m in love.  The best part is the chocolaty milk at the end of the bowl.  YumO!

Pre-Beans, I didn’t have much of a sweet tooth.  I usually passed on dessert and generally choose savory over sweet every time.  But these babies love sugar!  The cafeteria in my office has a fantastic bakery and for the first time in 4 1/2 years, I hit the display case.  Chocolate mousse cake and chocolate cream pie are my favorites!

Gender Predictions

We will hopefully find out in TWO DAYS what we’re having!  We’ll be sharing with everyone sometime after Xmas.  My guess is still a boy and a girl.  Jarrad is still guessing they are both boys.  Any other predictions out there?

Baby Purchases/Nursery Progress

We have cribs!  We chose the Ikea Sundvik cribs which were economical and highly rated online.  And we chose white for our nursery furniture as we plan to paint the walls a slate blue and our trim is white.  I like that they are simple, with clean lines.  And we purchased the coordinating Vyssa Vinak crib mattresses as well.  SUNDVIK Crib IKEA The bed base can be placed at two different heights. Converts into a toddler bed.

We also picked up our glider.  It’s more of a dark grey than this picture indicates.  It’s the perfect size, super comfy and I love it!

We also got the matching ottoman.  I know we will have many nights of rocking babies in this chair.

I ordered a couple packs of newborn onsies that were on super sale and boy oh boy…those things are teeny tiny!  I know, I know…we’ll probably be gifted lots of baby clothes and I shouldn’t buy much.  But I also know that you can’t have too many onsies.  Babies are messy!  And at 5 for $9…I couldn’t pass them up!

Jerry and I are alternating months of buying something “fun/cute” for the Beans and December is his month.  Who wants to put money on newborn soccer cleats or authentic Pirates jerseys?  I’ll take that bet!

Mood

For the most part, super happy.  So much to look forward to this week!  Our anatomy scan is on Wednesday (we’d appreciate lots of prayers for two healthy Beans!).  And we kick off the holiday season on Saturday, celebrating with my Mom, brother and their families.  I can hardly wrap my head around this being our last Christmas without our own little ones!  Feeling amazingly blessed every single day.

Of course it’s not all rainbows and butterflies…my patience with nonsense is pretty non-existent.  I really notice it at work.  My best defense recently is to just walk away from the annoying situations and not let it fester.  I’m the QUEEN of festering!  But I’m doing a pretty good job of letting things roll off these days.

10 Days till Christmas!

2 thoughts on “18 Weeks pregnant with twins”

  1. Your bump is sooooo cute! You look awesome. Funny – I have had a sweet tooth too and it’s not like me either. I have been a total cookie monster the past month. Love the nursery furniture, especially the glider!

    Like

  2. Love those cribs! We went with white cribs also, just such a clean and simple look.
    Can’t wait to hear what you are having!! Praying for healthy little babies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

