The Beans

19 Weeks pregnant with twins

002    003

per whattoexpect.com

Baby’s Getting Coordinated
Six inches long this week and about a half pound in weight, your baby has gone through a little growth spurt and is the size of a large mango. Your little action figure is able to choreograph Matrix-like moves at 19 weeks pregnant. Arms and legs are finally in proportion, neurons are now connected between the brain and muscles and cartilage throughout the body is turning to bone. All these upgrades combine to give your baby more control over limb movements. Which explains all that kicking, stretching and bodysurfing (or rather bellysurfing) you’ve possibly started feeling by now.

Vernix Develops
Something else going on this week: Your baby is getting a cheesy varnish. Say what? Yup — a protective substance called vernix caseosa (vernix is the Latin word for varnish; caseosa is cheese) now covers your baby’s skin. It’s greasy and white and is made up of lanugo (that downy hair), oil from your baby’s glands and dead skin cells. This waxy ‘cheese’ may not sound too appetizing or attractive, but it’s there for good reason: Vernix protects your baby’s sensitive skin from the surrounding amniotic fluid. Without it, your baby would look very wrinkled at birth (sort of what you’d look like if you soaked in a bath for nine months). The vernix sheds as delivery approaches, though some babies — especially those born early — will still be covered with vernix at the delivery, so you might get a look at your baby’s first anti-wrinkle cream.

The Bump 19w5d

Belly sucked in

19 weeks

 

Belly pushed out.  Yowza!

IMG_1115 (2)

Our anatomy scan

Hi babies!  Our little Butterbean is on top and Lima Bean is on the bottom.

007

Stats

Baby A  165 bpm measuring 19w3d (approx 10oz)

Baby B  147 bpm measuring 19w5d (approx 10oz)

I have to admit, I was sweating this ultrasound.  Don’t I look stressed out?

IMG_0072

I think it’s pretty normal to have some anxiety about a big appointment like this.  We were scheduled for 2:30 and all day at work, I was having mild panic attacks, heart palpitations and shaking hands.  But no need for the worry…we have two perfect little Beans!

Our ultrasound tech was awesome!  She was so great about explaining everything to us and answered all of our questions.  At the beginning of the appointment, we gave her two note cards and envelopes to write the genders of each baby.  And seal them tight!

The first time those babies pop up on the screen, it takes your breath away.  My goodness they were so big!  Limabean was outta control!  This baby must take after Jerry because, there was so much moving around, it was hard to get some of the measurements!  Butterbean was pretty chill, which obviously means this baby takes after it’s Mama.  The whole process took about an hour and 15 minutes, which wasn’t too bad.  We got measurements of the spines, kidneys, heart, brain, fingers, toes, arms, legs, and lots of veins and arteries.  Modern medicine is amazing!!

I have one baby on my lower right side and another baby up higher, by my ribs.  My belly is pretty big at the lower end so I was really surprised.  Butterbean started out in the breech position but eventually flipped so both babies heads were touching.  I guess there is still a lot of room for them to move around.

Babies snuggled together

SOSCIAJENNIFER20141217154013450

Baby feet!

SOSCIAJENNIFER20141217151317314

Scary Alien baby face.  This picture creeps me out.  Sorry, Limabean…I know you’re going to be adorable when you are on the outside!

SOSCIAJENNIFER20141217150724872

Some things to note:

My cervix looks good (long and closed are the words you want to hear) and the placenta is out of the way.  In some cases, the placenta can cover the cervix (a condition called placenta previa) which can lead to a whole bunch of problems.

It appears that the baby’s placentas have merged into one.  This is not a cause for concern as there is plenty of placenta to do it’s job.

They are both measuring around the same size, which is good.  This could change as we get further along but for right now, I have almost 2 lbs of baby in my belly!

We did find out the genders the night after the scan.  Jerry and I waited until we got home to open the notecards.  I took one card and he had the other and we opened them one at a time.  Needless to say, it was a very emotional moment.  Not because of the results, necessarily, but because these beans were all of a sudden SO REAL.

A few weeks ago, I pinned this idea from the blog, Kelcie Talk and knew that was how I wanted to share our news with our families.  Jerry and I bought all of the supplies around Thanksgiving.  We had enough for two boys, two girls or one of each so we were able to finish our ornaments the night of the ultrasound.  (Note to parents:  this image is from her website, not from our DIY extravaganza!)

None of the parents/friends/siblings are thrilled that we’re making them wait a week to find out!  Sorry about that, yinz guys.  Hopefully it’ll be worth the wait.

How I’m feeling

I know I’m a broken record.  I mostly feel great!  Just so I’m not a total jerk…

I have a little heartburn every night when I go to bed.  I keep forgetting to bring the Tums upstairs and generally just tough it out.  So it’s not all that bad.

Major knee stiffness/pain.  This is not from the babies, necessarily…I have had crappy knees since college.  I’m guessing the added weight I’m carrying around is aggravating the situation.  Standing from sitting it the biggest problem.  I usually have to brace myself on my chair.  Getting off the sofa alone is not pretty.  I kinda roll to the side and shimmy my way to standing.

My arms have started falling asleep.  I woke up in the middle of the night to a dead right arm and figured it was just the way I slept.  Unfortunately I’ve been getting pins and needles in the same arm.  We’ll talk to the doctor about it next week.

Um, that’s about it.  I kind of love being pregnant :).  {ducks her head to avoid being smacked}

Movement

Still lots of flutters and vibrations, which are getting more pronounced.  And I think I felt a kick.  It was a kick or a muscle spasm.

Sleep

Our week started out with Jerry getting home at 10:00 from a work dinner (I hadn’t seen him in 3 days and all I could muster was a quick “hi honey” before rolling over back to sleep).  Fast forward 2 hours later when Jacob was whining and head-butting me with his nose (oh the joys of a dog that can put his whole noggin on the bed while standing beside it).  Jerry was snoring and Jacob kept whining so I schlepped my big ole belly downstairs to see if the poor guy was sick.  Yeppers.  He had some tummy trouble going on which lasted another 2 hours and 2 more trips outside before I threw in the towel and woke Jerry up to take over sick dog duty.  Look at how well we’re already handling these late night  wake ups from our sick furry child?!?!  I slept 4 hours that night.

But sleep got better as the week went on.  I mean, does this look like someone who is struggling for sleep?

008

Jarrad took this picture one night to demonstrate how much I will hog the bed when left to my own devices.

Food

Ho Ho Ho…gimme all your cookies!  I’m doing a better job balancing out the sweets though.  There have been more green & red vegetables in my diet this week than the entire first 18 weeks of my pregnancy.

My new favorite thing is coconut Chobani, blueberries, walnuts and honey.  I have it for breakfast (with an English muffin) every single morning.  Cereal is still in my life.  Coco Krispies have been replaced by Frosted Mini Wheats.  I’m not a cereal kinda girl at all.  But now I crave it.

Mood

Ladies and gentlemen, pregnancy hormones are no joke.  I wish men could experience it for one day.  I woke up Friday morning and was contemplating getting out of bed when I just started sobbing.  For NO REASON.  Uncontrollable tears so bad I started hyperventilating.  I snapped out of it after 5-10 minutes but it was bizarre.  Maybe I had a bad dream?  Who knows. I felt great afterwards so hopefully it was just a fluke.

Annnnd, then Jerry & I had a “discussion” about TVs which somehow turned into a giant blowout (caused by me and these crazy hormones).  I was crying and screaming at him and he (understandably) yelled back that I was being insane.  Yes, I have moments of insanity.  But they are few and far between (per Jerry) so I guess I should be thankful.

Overall, I’m feeling very blessed and happy.  Looking forward to a wonderful week filled with friends and family!

1 thought on “19 Weeks pregnant with twins”

Leave a Reply

