The Beans

22 Weeks pregnant with twins

Apparently non-pregnant people do not like thinking in terms of weeks when they ask how far along you are.  So, if you fall into this category, this week we officially enter 6 months!

How is that possible?

003  002

per whattoexpect.com

Baby’s Got Eyelashes and Eyebrows
Guess what? At 22 weeks pregnant, your baby (who’s about the size of a small doll) has finally broken the one-pound mark. How heavy is that? Hold a one-pound box of sugar in your hand the next time you’re in the grocery story (and expect people to ask you why you’re grinning from ear to ear). Is the box eight inches long? That’s about the length your baby is too! Your little doll’s eyelashes and eyebrows are also well formed now — and even more hair is sprouting atop that cute little head. You’d be quite surprised, though, if you could see your little one up close and in color. Hair at this stage of fetal development has no pigment, so it’s bright white.

Baby’s Developing Grip, Vision and Hearing
This week, your sweetie is making more sense of the world as he or she develops the sense of touch. In fact, your little one’s grip is quite developed — and since there’s nothing else to grab in utero, he or she may sometimes hold on tight to that umbilical cord (don’t worry — it’s tough enough to handle it). The sense of sight is also getting more developed. Your fetus can now perceive light and dark much better than before (even with those fused eyelids). But remember — unless you’re shining a flashlight over your belly (which you can do, by the way), it’ll be mostly dark for your baby inside that cozy womb of yours. She can also hear your voice, your heartbeat, your gurgling stomach and the whoosh-whoosh of blood circulating through your body.

The Bump – 22w5d

No denying I’m pregnant now!  I’m constantly banging this belly into stuff.   I now have total strangers asking me when I’m due.  We are out loud and proud with this bump!  I can still see my feet but pretty much just my toes.

22

Just for fun

028_thumb.jpg  22_thumb.jpg

My Mom said these pictures make me look smaller than I really am.  Hmmmm….thank you?

I also had a conversation with Jerry about how often he tells me I’m huge.  Which is pretty much every day.  He has been under the impression that calling a pregnant woman huge was a compliment.  Because that means you’re growing big healthy babies.  Not to worry, I instructed him that it’s NEVER ok to call a woman huge…especially a pregnant one.  Huge=BAD.  Always.

Doctors Appointment – 22w1d

Total Weight Gain – +12.  Yep, that’s 6 lbs in 2 weeks.  Thank you Christmas!

Blood pressure – 122/82  This is a little high but nothing to be concerned about.

We heard both heartbeats, the doctor checked for swelling and said I’m doing just fine with my weight.  Overall, a great appointment.

I really liked the doctor we saw this time.  We had seen her before and as this is a new practice, I’m keeping mental notes on who I would like to be my ongoing doctor after delivery.  She took a good deal of time discussing my birthing options and I’m feeling a little more comfortable with the possibility of a vaginal delivery.  I would like to wait to see how the babies are presenting themselves toward the end of pregnancy.  There is just so much to consider.  I’m not a huge risk taker by nature and I ultimately just want what is the safest for the babies.  Obviously.

How I’m feeling

Overall, I still feel pretty great.  I know, broken record.  The heartburn is on hiatus…not sure why but I’m just not having it as often.  I get about one headache per week, but they’re not terrible.  Feet still hurt when I stand for more than 10 minutes.  So, I sit a lot.

My digestive tract has kicked it into high gear.  I am so much more comfortable these days!  I eat at least one yogurt every day and that could be helping.  Don’t know, don’t care…just happy my plumbing is working.

Could be the single digit temps but my knees are shot.  I wake up with two throbbing joints and they don’t get any better during the day.  Whaaaaaa!  Damn advanced maternal age.  I’m also starting to walk funny.  Not quite a waddle but it’s noticeable.  These babies are sitting low…I see a support belt in my future (sooner than later).

I’m starting to break out a bit.  I knew I wouldn’t make it through this pregnancy unscathed!  I ran out of my beloved Peter Thomas Roth cleanser and decided to try an all natural, drugstore brand.  Well, apparently my face likes chemicals!  The breakouts haven’t been too terrible…but I’m getting into that vicious cycle where one pimple clears up and another one takes it’s place.  Not a fan!  Thank you Ulta and your free shipping.

Sleep

Not great, not terrible.  Pee breaks are increasing…10:30, 1:00, 4:15…and that doesn’t help.  I get one good night and then two of insomnia invaded sleep.  Seems like a pretty consistent trend.  Our new bed is arriving this weekend!! Merry Christmas to us!

Food

I could eat 15 English muffins with butter every day.  It’s definitely the highlight of my morning!  Cereal is still in high demand.  Frosted mini wheats for life!  Veggies taste pretty good these days but fruit is my favorite.

My sweet tooth is raging!  They have these amazing cream cheese brownies at my office cafeteria and I’ve had 3 this week.  Whoops!  Balanced out with a salad of course.  We also have “happy hour” @ 2:30 on Thursdays with a sundae bar.  Yep, had my first one in 4 1/2 years.  I felt like such a cliché…pregnant woman eating ice cream.

Pasta is back!  I made linguine with an obscene amount of spinach and mushrooms and ate it every day for a week.

Nursery

Baby purchases

I know, I said I was done.  But did you know ThredUp has baby clothes?!?!  Oh goodness…

In my defense, these were a steal.  Matching plaid from Janie & Jack

Little Hurley Onsies (do I need to justify? And they were $5 each)

 

And these were $5 each.  So….they fell into my cart.

Annnnnnnnd, I bought about 15 hair bows off of Etsy.  They were $2-3 a piece!  I want to dress them in coordinating outfits when they’re babies (omg, I’m that Mom!) and a little bow will help people know that one of them is a girl.

Because I also bought two of these from Kohls.

 

Gah!  I’m dying.  No, it did not come in pink.

I got in touch with the girl who sold me our car seats and she has been such a huge help!  She hooked me up with some private Facebook groups geared toward twins, which have been pretty helpful.  And she has 1 yo boy/girl twins and lots of stuff to get rid of!  We seem to have the same taste so I’m thrilled I can buy gently used items from her.  And she looked over my registries and gave me a thumbs ups on most of the things I picked.  I know every baby is different but I really want to avoid getting a lot of stuff I don’t need.

Mood

95% of the time, I’m still uber happy!

I’ve been DVRing A Baby Story every day.  I know….I KNOW!!  What is wrong with me?  The tears that happen during that show are ridiculous.  But I’m a firm believer that a good cry is good for the soul.  So my soul is all good these days!

Random Thoughts/Observations/Stuff

*  We booked our newborn photographer.  Super excited!  It was very important to Jerry and I to use someone who gave us the images to print on our own.  Unfortunately, we have a terrible track record for ordering finished photos from the photographers site.  We’re using Melissa Lucci Photography and I love that we can take ownership of all of our photos to share and print at our leisure.

*  We signed up for a Newborn Basics class at West Penn.  Our maternity ward tour is on 1/17.  And I guess I should start thinking about childbirth classes as I’m no longer 100% sold on a c-section.  yikes.

*  We’re 99.9% sure we have our boy name.  The girl name is proving to be a little more difficult.  We have about 5-6 options we like and but Jerry doesn’t love my favorite (yet…). I know we have time but if we don’t come to some agreement, I’ll just keep looking at new names and confusing myself more!  Better to just get it settled.

*  We secured the location for my shower and….it’s at a pizza place!  My love of pizza is legendary and my love of Aviva pizza is even more so.  I spoke with the owner over the weekend and he’s going to put together the perfect, low key pizza party for us.   I’m really lucky to have a whole team of friends and family getting together to host my shower.  And they were kind enough to let me pick the location.  I’m super excited!

2 thoughts on “22 Weeks pregnant with twins”

Leave a Reply

