The Beans

26 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

Hello third trimester!  So, so, SO happy to see you.  Some say the third tri starts at 27 weeks.  As I won’t make it 40 weeks, my 3rd trimester starts now!

003   002

per whattoexpect.com

What’s up with your baby? She now weighs a full two pounds and measures nine-plus inches. Your baby will soon be feeling a little cramped in your uterus — but not to worry, there’s still plenty of room for your baby to grow. It just means your gymnast will have less room for those somersaults, cartwheels and other Olympic feats.

Baby’s Eyes Open
Look who’s looking! Your baby’s eyes — which have been closed for the past few months (so that the retina, the part of the eye that allows images to come into focus, could develop) — are beginning to open at 26 weeks pregnant. This means your baby is able to see what’s going on now (unfortunately the view in your uterus isn’t all that exciting). But do try this at home for kicks: Shine a flashlight at your stomach. Your baby might kick in response (as in: “Get that light out of my eyes!”). Right now the iris, the colored part of the eye, still doesn’t have much pigmentation (that’ll fill in over the next month or two), so it’s too early to start guessing your baby’s eye color. And even the color your baby is born with might not be the permanent shade — you may be kept guessing until your baby is close to six months old.

Brain-Wave Activity Kicks in
Look what else is going on this week: Your baby’s brain-wave activity is kicking in at this stage in fetal development, which means your little one can not only hear noises but can now also respond to them. Not in so many words, of course, but with an increase in pulse rate or activity.

Bump – 26w5d

Third trimester and not a stretch mark in sight!  Jerry’s the only one who will ever see my stomach, so if they show up, they show up.  I know it’s 90% genetic but I still grease myself up every night with coconut oil.  It’s at least keeping my skin soft and decreasing the itching.  The very best kind I’ve found (and I’ve tried 4-5 different brands) is Simply Nature organic from Aldi, of all places!  It’s so smooth and absorbs really well.  I also use it on my face at night and have noticed a huge difference in how my skin feels.

I wish I would have started measuring earlier but as of 26w2d, my belly is 42”.  That’s a lot of baby, er babies.

26

We’ve done quite a bit of growing this trimester!

14  26

Doctor’s appt – 26w0d

Total Weight gain – +21 lbs.  BP 120/72  Belly is measuring 34 weeks. Heartbeats are very strong.

In case you missed that last part, my belly is measuring 34 weeks!  That means, if I were carrying one baby, my uterus would be stretched to the size of someone at 34 weeks gestation.  That’s a big belly!  But, considering my weight gain is in an acceptable range, that also means I’m growing good sized babies.  I’ll take it!

We met with Dr. G this time…she’s the one who had triplets.  She reiterated that now through 34 weeks is a very critical time for these Beans and I should be taking it as easy as possible.  Cut out any exercise (including walking) or unnecessary activity and focus on rest. Looks like Jerry will be taking over the floor mopping duties! I know he doesn’t mind…he’s a good sport.  I’m lucky that I sit for 80% of my work day and I’m very smart about just chilling out at night.

Note:  We have to meet with different doctors at each appointment and it’s very interesting the perspective each one has to managing my pregnancy.  I have met with Dr. R the most and she’s of the opinion, if I’m feeling good, there is no need to modify my activity.  Just pay attention to my body and rest when I need to.  Dr. G has personal experience with multiple pregnancy (and her triplets were all @ 5 lbs a piece at delivery.  Which is amazing!) and is very conservative in her recommendations.  I’m trying to take a balanced approach and still think small amounts of exercise is fine (and good for me) but then I have Jerry who wants me to ride around in a scooter when we go to Target.  I would never forgive myself if something happened because I wasn’t sitting around doing nothing 95% of the day.  But when I go to my appointments and everything looks on point and we have no problems, I want to leash up Jacob and get 30 minutes of fresh air. 

I’ve been having some tightening at the top of my stomach.  Several times a day, my belly gets really hard and the muscles kind of bulge out a bit.  Turns out, it’s probably Braxton Hicks contractions.  Here, I thought I’d feel contractions low in my belly. Apparently my uterus is stretched out from my pubic bone to my sternum.  I thought it was just Butterbean poking his little tushy and head around in there. It’s not a problem as there is no pattern to the contractions but if I notice it gets more rhythmic and happens every 10 minutes or so, I should call the office.

I scheduled my glucose test for 7:30am on Valentine’s Day…not sure if that was a smart move or very, very stupid.  I start having appointments every 2 weeks and next time, I will receive my Rhogam shot as I am rh-negative (more info on that here).  We have another ultrasound in 4 weeks for a growth check. And at 32 weeks, I start weekly appointments with non-stress tests (NST) to keep a close eye on the Beans.  Whew! Things are moving right along!

How I’m feeling

Joint pain continues.  Yinz guys, it’s bad!  Knees, hips and now, my left thumb.  My left thumb?  Yes, strange but true.  I’ve decided I’m NOT going to stop complaining about my achy knees because it’s my blog and I like to whine.  So…Whaaaaaa! My knees hurt.  There is a lot of grunting when I move.  I’m sure it’s annoying but I’m not even aware I’m doing it half the time.

For the first time in my life, I’m hot.  Thank goodness it’s 24 degrees out so I can get some relief!  And as my coat no longer fits, it’s perfect timing.  Normal life, I’m always cold.  Always.  I take hot showers every night to warm up.  And we all know I live in fleece from November to April.  Well not anymore.  I’m a furnace.  And I don’t like it!

No heartburn.  Congestion is gone.  No backaches. My plumbing is working acceptably.  Fingers are slightly swollen but I can still wear my rings.  No headaches.  No varicose vein issues.  Big boobs. Pretty good overall…just feeling the extra 20+ lbs I’m carrying around these days.

Sleep

Not bad. I know I get up a few times a night because my Fitbit tells me so…but half the time I don’t even remember.  It’s like I’m sleep walking.  And Jacob has been sleeping in our bed for a lot of the night…but I don’t even feel him and he hovers around Jerry’s side so I’m not making a big deal about it.  Jerry loves when he sleeps with us and Jacob will get down if I tell him too.  So I’m taking one for the team…for now.  I’ve been falling asleep like a champ, but then waking up between 3-4.  I don’t even fight it anymore…once I’m up, I’m up.

Mood

Less grouchy, I think. Definitely less anxious. Still emotional.  Pretty happy overall.

Food

The name of the game these days is sugar.  In the form of fruit, sometimes, but mostly just the white stuff.  There are brownies at the bottom of that sundae, btw.

012 013

I tried to explain pregnancy hunger to my girlfriend this weekend.  Imagine you have 4 plates of thanksgiving dinner and were so full that it felt like your stomach might burst.  But you’re starving.  Hunger pains that make your belly burn and you feel light head.  It’s ridiculous.

Random thoughts/observations/stuff

*  Comment of the week – I said “excuse me” as I was walking in between 2 co-workers, one said “Ya sure you can fit?”.  I turned and shot him a death stare and my other co-worker said “I’m just gonna walk away so whatever happens now, there are no witnesses”.  Mean co-worker said that he knows I’m a good sport and can take some harmless ribbing.  I told him fair enough but I’d better find a brownie on my desk at some point this week.

Yeah buddy!

001

Then the barista at Starbucks said “You are the most adorable pregnant woman I’ve ever seen.  You’re like the poster child for perfect pregnancy style.”  So I hugged her and gave her a $50 tip.  (Stop laughing at the stylish part of the comment, RB!)

*  The Beans are headed to Florida in June!  We got found nonstop flights and were able to use points so they were practically free. So…what the heck!  The babies should be around 2 1/2 months old at that point and I see no point in waiting to get them acclimated to a plane. (We will clear this with their pediatrician, of course).  And we’re flying Southwest so if we are not comfortable or something comes up, we’ll just use the tickets around the holidays.  The grandparents volunteered to have them sleep in their room too…suckers!

* I found a super cute dress for my shower.  Of course, I found it on ThredUp (referral link – and someone used my link & I got $10 off my order.  Thank you!)  It was only $16!  And as I refuse to pay for shipping, I had to buy a couple other things to get my order to $50.  So I bought a couple of baby hats & some plaid rompers for the Beans.  Because, ya know, they need some cute summer outfits for their trip to Florida :).

*  I got my breast pump this week.  That thing scares the heck out of me!  Am I supposed to try it out before delivery?  Or just take it with me to the hospital and have them show me how it works.  I’d like to be a little prepared but could it, like, throw me into labor?!?!  I’ll probably do a dry run with actually attaching it to me.  Or maybe Jerry could be my stand in (bahahaaaa!  Can you imagine?)

HAPPY NATIONAL PIZZA DAY!

4 thoughts on “26 Weeks Pregnant with Twins”

  1. Hahaha – that Starbucks story was so funny. But it’s true, you are very adorable pregnant! That’s a good question about the breast pump. I guess ask the doc. It’s probably good to test out the logistics of everything, but maybe not actually hook it up and go to town. I’m going to try to start pumping a few weeks after delivery, so it would be good to know how it actually works!

    Like

Leave a Reply

