The Beans

Second Trimester Observations

I woke up today STUNNED that I’m in my third trimester.  I did not believe anyone when they said your pregnancy will go by so fast.  Liars!  I wanted to be pregnant for so long…I just couldn’t believe it wouldn’t creep by waiting for our baby (now babies) to be born.

My pregnancy is going by so fast! 

The craziest part, the second trimester is the longest one!  They basically spot you four weeks for the first trimester.  Weeks 1 and 2 don’t even have a baby involved!  Week 3 kicks off with conception and by the time you take that all important test, you’re already at 4 weeks!  I don’t get it either.  So Tri-1 is only 9 weeks long, Tri-2 is 13 weeks long and, if you’re having twins, Tri-3 is around 10-11 weeks.  I will be considered full term in 10 weeks!!  Oh. My. GAWD!!!

It really is the honeymoon phase

They’re not lying.  If you’re gonna love not hate being pregnant, I think this would be the time.  You have more energy.  You want to eat.  Maternity clothes look cute on you and you’re not sick of them yet.  Sleep is decent.  You don’t feel too big.  Baby kicks are so fun!  I loved every minute of my second trimester.

As I start the third trimester, I can see that starting to change. I’m still loving being pregnant.  Swear!  But I can feel a severe case of ouchieitis coming on (that’s a technical term).  Where everything thing just kinda hurts and you want to say “Ouch!” every time you move.  Yeah.

Worry is starting to creep in

It was bound to happen.  And no, it’s not because of stuff I’ve read on the internet.  Or horror stories from the peanut gallery.  It’s because it’s real life.  Carrying multiples comes with risk.  It just does.  And carrying multiples at an advanced maternal age comes with more risk.

So let’s just get it out there.  Right now, I’m worried about pre-term labor.  There is only so much I can do to prevent it.  I feel like I’m taking really good care of myself but things like preeclampsia or a shortening cervix are really out of my control. I know we just take it day by day and deal with things as they come.

And I’m still concerned about the delivery. I don’t think this will go away until I have the Beans in my arms. I have this nagging anxiety that I just can’t shake.  I know they can’t force me to deliver naturally, but there is also a nagging feeling that if I can avoid a c-section, I should. UGH…I’m so conflicted!  I know you’re sick of hearing about this whole thing…but it’s really the only thing I’m stressing about at the moment.

Hey girl.  Worrying doesn’t do anyone any good. I know, I know…I KNOW!  You try it.

This little gem from Pregnant Chicken showed up in my inbox this morning. “Labours are like fingerprints and no two are alike. You’re going to have a great birth and you’re going to have a healthy, beautiful baby at the end of it all and there’s nothing to gain from thinking otherwise.”  That Chicken is very wise.

As someone pointed out…you never hear about the good stories.  A normal, uncomplicated pregnancy and delivery aren’t newsworthy.  But they are very common. We’re going to focus on that.

And I was worried about gaining enough weight.

Basketball in the front…beach ball from the side.

005 004

I should have trusted that my body would take care of things as it needed to.  I’m on track to gain about 35 lbs and that’s pretty much perfect for twins.

The books are Bullsh*t

If you haven’t seen this article, you should check it out.  It’s true not only about the expert opinions on sleep advice, but pregnancy, multiples, breastfeeding, etc.  There is so much conflicting information flying around out there!  It’s really enough to make your head spin.

As a first time parent, I’m all for being prepared so I’ve devoured 5-6 books during the last few months.  Some of the information was good, some was stupid and some seemed like it was just included to freak you out.   I’m pretty sure our Mothers didn’t have all of this information at their fingertips (how did they keep us alive without the Internet?!?!) and we turned out just fine.  They probably didn’t do everything perfectly and for the most part, had to learn as they went.  I’m starting to think that was a better approach.

I’m gonna miss having these Beans all to myself

I know in another 5 or 6 weeks, I’m going to be OVER IT!  I’m going to be super uncomfortable and I’m just going to want them out.  But right now I’m selfish.  I like that I’m the only one who knows what their kicks feel like.  And that I have them safe inside me, protected from the world.  I like the company at night when I can’t sleep.  And that I already know their little personalities (Baby girl is a spitfire and our boy is laid back).  Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait to meet these Beans…but I know I’m gonna be a little sad when I have to share them.

It won’t be long now!

006

Leave a Reply

