The Beans

31 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

002 001

per whattoexpect.com

Weighing in at three-plus pounds and measuring 18 inches long, your baby is quickly approaching his birth length — though he’s got to pack on another three to five pounds before D-day. He’s also putting in longer stretches of sleep, which is why you’re probably noticing more defined patterns of wakefulness (and movement) and rest (when he’s pretty still).

Baby’s Developing Five Senses
Your baby’s brain is working overtime these days, developing faster than ever. Connections between individual nerve cells (he’s got to make trillions of them!) are being made at a super-fast rate. He’s now processing information, tracking light and perceiving signals from all five senses. Sure, your baby can’t smell anything right now, but that’s only because he’s still submerged in amniotic fluid and needs to be breathing air to get a whiff of anything. Lucky for you — and your baby — yours will be one of the very first scents your baby breathes in, a scent that will quickly become his or her very favorite.

Pedaling His Feet and Sucking His Thumb
So what’s your little dove doing all day while you’re busy feathering your nest for his or her arrival? Making faces, hiccupping, swallowing, breathing, pedaling with little hands and feet along your uterine wall and even sucking his or her thumb. In fact, some babies suck their thumbs so vigorously while in the womb that they’re born with a callus on their thumb (what a little sucker!).

Bump – 31w1d

Belly button still in.  Stretch marks still absent.  I think it’s this shirt that’s making me look so big.  (Ya, that’s it.) Seriously!  It’s a weird fit…I’m going to wear my other black shirt next week and we’ll see if I’m just delusional.

31

Oh Hi beach ball…

004

How I’m feeling

I’m feeling good.  For 31 weeks pregnant, I’m feeling really, really good.  Bigger, heavier, slower…little bit more every day.  But hell, I’m growing two babies and that’s the point, right?  I’m not taking one minute for granted as I know it could be so much worse.

Just a few things to note:

Bending and squatting are things of the past.  If I drop something, it stays on the floor unless I can grab it with my toes or someone offers to pick it up for me.  Thank goodness for our shower seat because I drop my razor, the soap, my pouf at least 10 times a day.

There is a baby jumping on my bladder and I’m in the bathroom every 1/2 hour.  Despite drinking more and more water, my output is still minimal.  At times the pressure hurts so bad I feel like my bladder might burst and when I finally go, the contents couldn’t fill a thimble.  I just assume my body is putting all of that water to good use.

I’m still having all day tingling in my right hand and my left hand is sore but it’s not unbearable.

Skin tags.  I mentioned them before but they are out of control!  All over my neck and chest.  I keep pinching them off with my nails and they bleed and make a huge mess.  Attractive, I’ll tell ya.  But seriously, they’d better disappear after birth or my dermatologist is going to make a lot of money off of me.

Annnnddd, that’s all I got.  Like I said, it could be so much worse.  Life is good!

Sleep

I’ve developed a snortle.  It’s definitely not snoring.  My mouth is closed and I can breathe through my nose just fine.  But I have this loud gurgle that erupts from my tonsils.  It’s so bizarre.  And I’m constantly waking myself up!  Ugh. I have a sore throat and wicked dry mouth every morning…it’s just gross.  Jerry and I will both be happy when that goes away.

I’m getting 6ish hours every night.  Most mornings start @ 3:30/4:00 and Jacob and I get some alone time snuggling on the couch watching TV.  I’m not really feeling too sleepy during the day, all things considered

Exercise (What?!)

OK, it’s not Body Pump but it’s something!  I’m doing more these days than moving from the fridge to the couch!  We’ve had some pretty perfect weather for March in Pittsburgh (low 50s, sun, no wind or humidity) and it feels so good to get out and stretch my legs.  I’m doing short walks (20 minutes at a time) and my whole body is so grateful.  My joints feel better and my digestive tract is jumping for joy (get movin and get movin!).  Yay for Spring!!

Movement

Something shifted this week.  As in, I think someone flipped or turned because I had one major “what the heck is going on?” moment at work this week.  It wasn’t painful but really uncomfortable and my stomach looked like a scene from Alien…I fully expected a baby to tear her way out through my skin.  I’m now having a ton of movement low near my pelvis, where there really was very little before.  And a lot of hard kicking on my left side.  Who knows?  They may be kung fu fighting in there or they may just be adjusting.  We’ll find out in 2 weeks at my next ultrasound.

Food

I might be turning a corner with the obnoxious gluttony I’ve been partaking in lately. We had salad for dinner TWICE last weekend. Flank steak and southwestern shrimp salads…chock full of veggies and very little cheese.  I did have a slice of pizza at Costco (the best!) and a giant grilled cheese at the Yard to balance it all out.  But I feel my healthy taste buds slowly returning.

Blueberries and strawberries are rocking my world these days.  Holy geez, they are so sweet!  Clementines are getting harder to find but I’m still devouring 3 every day.  I’ve cut back on refined sugar but still can’t quit my love affair with carbs.  Grilled cheese 3 times a week?  I can do that.

I really haven’t missed much in terms of food.  I still eat deli meat (heated of course) and I have one cup of coffee per day (the real stuff, none of this decaf nonsense).  But I can’t wait to have a poached egg!  And a GIANT iced coffee (or 6).  And a cold turkey sandwich.  And sushi rolls!  I told Jerry that our first date night out has to be at a sushi place.

Random thoughts/Observations/Stuff

*  My baby shower is on Saturday.  I remember when we picked the date at the beginning of January and thinking, wow, I’ll be 31 1/2 weeks pregnant on March 14th…I hope I make it that long!  It seemed so far away!  But here we are.  Babies are still growing and doing their thing!  I can’t wait to see all of our friends and family…these Beans already have a huge fan club.

* I’m in the habit of playing head games with myself.  One minute, its “Hey, chill out…you still have 6 weeks to go” and the next is “Holy moley…you only have 6 weeks to go!”  I’m so ready to meet these Beans but I’M NOT READY!

* The comments have lessened but the advice is flowing like wine.  Lots of “you MUST get these bottles/swaddles/stroller/toys”  or “the ONLY thing that works for crying/diaper rash/blowouts/colic is <insert what they used>”.  I really do appreciate the advice but always just say “Well, every baby is different and we’ll just have to see what works for ours”.  It’s surprising how offended people get that I’m not running out and buying 87 Dr. Brown bottles because they said so.  They don’t realize that the day before someone told me I needed to stock up on the Advent bottles because they are the only ones that don’t cause tons of spit up.

*  Jerry finished up the changing table and it looks awesome!  We just need to get some fun drawer pulls and it’ll be ready to go.  We’re putting his Dad to work during his visit and we should have the nursery almost finished by next weekend!  Checking lots of stuff off of our list.  I like it!

3 thoughts on “31 Weeks Pregnant with Twins”

  1. Omg I can relate so much! I noticed a skin tag today on my boob and told my husband and he looked at me like I had 2 heads. I eat so many clementines in fact I might go grab some now! I can’t get enough grilled cheese and am trying so hard to back off the refined sugar but my lord is it good! I hope you have an awesome shower and look forward to reading all about it!

    Like

  2. Why do they have to make them such a painful looking fruit this week? Sheesh. Just the thought of having two pineapples in there–ouch! And yes–the advice is INSANE. My cousin emailed me a novel the other day to give me her two cents on everything from glass bottles to organic breast pads and why I shouldn’t even bother with an electric breast pump. I just laughed and said, “Thank you! So many things I never would have thought of!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

