The Beans

33 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

 

001   002

If you watch Chopped, you know what a Durian fruit is.  If you don’t, it supposedly smells like raw sewage…but is very sweet.  No idea why they’d pick this fruit as a point of reference.  Another website uses a honeydew.  Regardless…these babies are getting big!

per whattoexpect.com

This week your baby may be anywhere between 17 to 19 inches in length and could grow up to another full inch this week — especially if he or she has been on the shorter side. She weighs more than four and a half pounds and is still gaining weight (about half a pound a week — weight gain can range from a third more to a full doubling before the big debut). With that much baby inside your uterus, your amniotic-fluid level has maxed out at 33 weeks pregnant, making it likely you have more baby than fluid now. That’s one reason explaining why some of her pokes and kicks feel pretty sharp these days.

Baby Differentiates Day from Night
If your uterine walls had eyes, here’s what you’d see: your fetus acting more and more like a baby, with his eyes closing during sleep and opening while awake. And because those uterine walls are becoming thinner, more light penetrates the womb, helping your baby differentiate between day and night (now if only baby can remember that difference on the outside!).

Fetal Immune System Is Developing
Good news! Your baby has reached an important milestone about now: She’s got her own immune system. Antibodies are being passed from you to your little one as she continues to develop her fetal immune system, which will come in handy once she’s outside the womb and fending off all sorts of germs.

Bump – 33w2d

Hi there, fat face.

33

13 23 33

Ultrasound – 33w0d

Remember the comment by the doctor at my last ultrasound?  “We’ll see you at week 33.  If you make it that long”.  My babies (and my uterus) are rockstars…and we like a challenge.  Go Team!

The rockstar babies are huge.  It was really hard to distinguish the body parts as the popped up on the screen.  Our ultrasound tech was great about pointing everything out but they still looked like big blobs.

Lima Bean  4.7 lbs Heart rate 144 bpm

Butterbean  4.5 lbs Heart rate 146 bpm

Yep, that’s around 9 lbs of baby in my belly.  Yowza!  They are on the small side for a singleton but on the twin scale, they are just right.  Everything looked great.  The placentas are doing their jobs.  The fluid levels are perfect.  And our little boy has hair!  The party didn’t stop for the entire appointment.  These two were kickboxing the whole time.

They both remain head down and considering they’ve been like that for a while….I’m looking at a vaginal delivery. Yay!  I am the only person that is not excited about this. I guess I’d better start watching more childbirth videos on YouTube.

We met with a new MFM Doctor and she was great.  She spent a lot of time with us reviewing the images and answering questions.  She doesn’t see any reason I won’t make it to 38 weeks (god help me).  But she also didn’t really give a reason for that observation.  In my opinion…it’s all a crap shoot.  She also indicated that I will be changing my Lovenox protocol to Heparin at 36 weeks.  The reason being, should I request an epidural (yes please), the blood thinner needs to be out of my system.  Lovenox takes 24 hours.  Heparin takes 12.  So Heparin for the win!  I will also need to remain on a blood thinner for 6-8 weeks following the birth as there is a greater risk for blood clots postpartum as there is during pregnancy.  Good thing I’m used to these needles by now.

I scheduled my final ultrasound for 4/27.  I will be just shy of 38 weeks at that point.  I do NOT accept that challenge.

Non Stress Test – 33w0

This was, by far, the easiest test I’ve ever had to take.  For the Non-Stress Test, they hooked 3 monitors around me…one for each baby and one for the placenta.  And then I sat there for 20 minutes.  The Beans did their thing (they need to be awake and moving so they can watch their heart rate accelerations and decelerations)…and I read blogs on my ipad.  Easy peasy.  The doctor looked over the information and said all looked good.  I will have an NST every Wednesday from now until birth.

My blood pressure was 122/74.  A little higher than normal but still pretty good.

I was supposed to have a doctor’s appt this week, as well, but I cancelled it.  During my routine appts they check my weight, babies heart rates, my BP and my urine.  As the heartbeats and my BP were checked 2 days before my appt, it seemed a bit redundant.  So I start weekly appts next Tuesday.

How I’m feeling

Daily question from 50 different people at work.  “How are you feeling?”  My response?  A cheery “Good!”  I’m aware they’re just asking to be nice and don’t really want to hear a laundry list of complaints.

But the real answer? I feel pretty freaking lousy.

How do you spell miserable?  S-C-I-A-T-I-C-A.  It is horrible. It’s my biggest complaint at the moment.  I feel like I’m being jabbed in my right butt cheek with a cattle prod every time I take a step.

Everything is swollen.  Feet, hands, ankles…my face!  I have one pair of sneakers I can wear.  Sadly flip flops are out of the question as it’s 33 degrees in Pittsburgh right now.  All of my clothes are uncomfortable.  Except my favorite Soma pajamas, which Jerry might burn while I’m in the hospital.  We’re both sick of looking at them.

Carpal Tunnel is still annoying.  It’s not really painful anymore, but my two middle fingers on my right hand are numb all day long.

I’m exhausted.  All the time.  It doesn’t help that my sleep is all messed up.  I could take 4 or 5 naps a day.

Oh hey, I’m uber pregnant. I probably should feel like hell.  I keep reminding myself that it’s been pretty smooth sailing up to this point so I should just suck it up.

This is how I spent most of last weekend.

004

With lots of snuggles with the big guy.

009

Sleep

The snortle is out of control.  I tried to take a nap on Saturday and I was propped upright on the couch.  I woke myself up at least 10 times with my random snores.  It’s so gross! Some nights sleep is good, others have me waking between 3-5 am.  Regardless, I’m tired all the time.

Movement

I am constantly telling these children to settle down.  They don’t listen.  They’re having way too much fun in there and it’s a 24/7 party.

I picture both of them with their feet and hands simultaneously pushing outward on my belly trying to escape.  There are no subtle movements anymore.  Just hard rolls and violent jabs.  It’s downright uncomfortable at times.

I still love it.

Mood

Little Jenny cranky pants.  That is me. Jerry said to me one evening “I can’t wait until you get your sense of humor back”.  Poor guy.  He’s right.  Seriously, I am zero fun at the moment.

Random Thoughts/Observations/Stuff

*  Sneak peek of the nursery

011

I just adore these prints.

*  My hospital bag is packed!  The Beans bag is packed.  We’re installing car seats this weekend.  And Jerry is going to finish the nursery.  It’s all getting very real.

‘cause…ya know

006

3 thoughts on “33 Weeks Pregnant with Twins”

  1. Those prints are fantastic! Love them! Speaking of crankiness, I ordered my wife a shirt the other day that says, “Be nice to me, my wife is pregnant.” I ordered it after I threw a maternity shirt at her because she accidentally shrunk it in the wash. Never mind that she does ALL of the laundry. And the dishes. And the yard work. And the floors. And yes, I am a total jerk. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

