The Beans

34 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

I typed the title for this weeks post and instantly burst into tears…in a good way.  34 weeks feels like a really big deal!

I have tried with everything I have in me to stay positive over the last 8 months.  But the truth is…this whole pregnancy thing is hard.  Physically, yes, but the mental game is tough.  Especially when you’ve already experienced a loss.  And when you’re faced with a high risk situation like multiples.  And when you’re (ahem)…older.  You try to have faith in your body and your babies and focus on the good.  Be kind to your self and just be grateful for every single day.  Unfortunately, knowing that worry gets you nowhere, doesn’t make you worry any less.  All you can do is push that worry down deep and tell yourself everything will be OK.

Making it this far is such a great feeling.  We’re certainly not out of the woods yet.  Even if we make it to full term (37-38 weeks) with good sized babies, there could be breathing, feeding or other health issues.  It’s just the nature of multiples. But at 34 weeks, they have an excellent shot at being healthy in the long run.  Even if they need some NICU time.

While I’d like them to keep cooking for a couple more weeks, I’m ready for these Beans to make their debut.  We will just take the challenges as they come.  Our little family is already proving to be a good Team!

001 002

 

004

per whattoexpect.com

This week your baby is clocking in at five pounds and could be as tall as 20 inches. Need a visual? Hold a five-pound bag of flour in your arms and imagine it’s your soon-to-be-born baby (cradle it and you’ll only get strange looks in the baking aisle). Then stack three such bags one on top of the other (and get ready for some more strange looks, maybe from the same clerks who saw you grinning and holding that one-pound box of sugar a few weeks ago). That’s how tall your baby is at 34 weeks pregnant

If your little doughboy is, well, a boy, then you’ll be pleased to know that this week his testicles are making their way down from his abdomen to his scrotum. (Some baby boys — three to four percent — are born with undescended testicles, but they usually make the trip down sometime before the first birthday.

In other baby-related developments, those tiny fingernails have probably reached the tips of his fingers by now — and getting ready for that first postpartum manicure.

Bump 34w1d

Considering that my belly rests in my lap when I’m standing up…I think I’ve dropped a bit. It’s so crazy to think this could be my last bump picture!  My co-worker had her twins at 34w5d…so it could happen.

I think we have a few more weeks in us.

34.jpg

22 weeks vs 34 weeks.  Same shirt.  Chubbier face.

005.jpg 001_thumb.jpg

Doctor’s Appointment 33w6d

Weight gain = +39 lbs (what???…In my defense, the appt was at the end of the day when I’m usually 4-5 lbs heavier).  BP 126/80  Belly measuring 44 weeks.

The first time we met with this doctor, I wasn’t a fan.  He just rubbed me the wrong way.  But this time, he proved me wrong.  He was great and now I like all of the doctors in our practice :).

My blood pressure was noticeably higher than weeks past but they didn’t seem to be concerned.  I was had a busy afternoon at work and that could have contributed to the increase.  They found babies heart beats right away and they were nice & strong.

We’re going to start my Heparin protocol at 35 weeks.  No sense in waiting.  Jerry questioned when they would induce and the Doctor indicated around 38 weeks.  He also noted that there is really no way to tell when I might go into labor.  As I thought, it’s all a crap shoot.

The doctor also mentioned that he would support me finishing up at work sooner than later.  I’m planning on wrapping things up at the office by the 10th and then working from home until the big birthday.

NST – 34w0d

005

BP 124/82

I forgot to eat something before my appointment so they had me drink 4oz of apple juice before they got a good reading.  Hooboy, these babies LOVE apple juice!  They were dancing up a storm.

Everything looks great and I questioned when they would start getting concerned about my BP.  The doctor mentioned if it gets into the 140s, we need to take action.  I’m going to start having it taken at my gym a few days a week just to keep an eye on things.

How I’m feeling

You know what’s the best feeling in the world?   The absence of pain.  When you’re so used to something really hurting, and then one day, it just doesn’t.  It’s amazing.  It’s my sciatica!  Gone…just like that.  I have no idea why.  But I’ll take it!

Oh but not to worry…there are other pain/complaints!  Wanna hear about it?  I thought you might.

I’m still retaining a ton of fluid in my hands and cankles…and they throb all the time.  Elevating them doesn’t really help much.  Even after 8 hours of sleep, I’m still swollen.  I guess it’s just going to be like that for a while.

If I sit for more than 1/2 hour, it feels like all of the bones in my feet are broken when I take a step. My late night walks to the bathroom are excruciating.   My knees feel like they were hit with a sledgehammer and my hips feel like someone pulled them out of the sockets.  And then just jammed them right back in.  My joints hate me right now.

I’ve been crampy for the last few days.  It feels like menstrual cramps under my belly and it radiates into my hip flexors.  It’s most likely round ligament pain.  Given my uterus is stretched to 44 weeks for a singleton, it makes sense.  I sort of glossed over that fact in my doctor’s appt update.  FORTY FOUR weeks.  That’s crazy!

Yinz guys…I’m exhausted.  First trimester fatigue has returned with a vengeance.  I hit a wall around 2:30 every day and just want to take a nap.  I try to stay up until 9/9:30 but I’m totally fine getting in bed at 8:00.  My evenings are spent laying on the couch and even that wipes me out.  I just feel tired all the time.  Welcome to the next 18 years of my life.

Mood

Am I the only person that cries at all the Taylor Swift songs?  Yes?  I thought so… I can’t wait to clear these pregnancy hormones out of my system so I can turn off the waterworks.  Too bad I heard it gets worse AFTER birth!  Fantastic.

I think I’m a little less grouchy this week. If I don’t feel too bad or I’m not too tired, I think I’m actually in a pretty chipper mood.

Random Thoughts/Observations/Stuff

*  I promised Jerry there wouldn’t be any “I’M IN LABOR!” April Fools jokes.  Instead I changed our morning alarm from our wedding song to “Mama Said Knock You Out”.  Nothing says WAKE UP! like a little LL Cool J!  It was a dumb, very tame prank but I thought it was hilarious.

*  The nursery will be finished by the end of this weekend.  Jerry’s been working on a side table for me (painting it, not building it) and he’s promised it will be all done by Saturday.  Then we just need to organize and we’ll be good to go!

*  My hospital bag is all packed!  I found these comfy sleep shirts at Target that will be perfect for breastfeeding and lounging during recovery.  I really don’t like the hospital gowns.  And I don’t know if I’ll need a C-section so I didn’t want to get pants that could possibly irritate my incision.  I looked at a ton of options for nursing pjs and they were all more than I wanted to spend.  So all I need to grab on D day are chargers and our electronics.

*  Jerry has decided he is officially ready for the Beans.  We just have one last Costco run so he can buy non-latex, disposable gloves (ya know…for diaper changes) and they can show up any time.  Let’s revisit this revelation when I start having contractions.

003

3 thoughts on “34 Weeks Pregnant with Twins”

  1. You look so good!! Like AMAZING!! So glad to hear your sciatica disappeared! What a relief. My SI joint pain comes and goes and there is no rhyme or reason! I’m really rooting for you to make it full term but as long as the babies are healthy, they can come whenever right?? So very excited for you and Jerry!! Woo hoo!!!

    Like

  2. I think you look awesome!! I think we are always our own worst critics though. 🙂
    “All you can do is push that worry down deep and tell yourself everything will be OK.” I have had the same issue with anxiety about my pregnancy. It’s so hard not to freak out! It sounds like you have come to a great place in your thinking though. Let’s hope we both make it to 38 weeks and everyone stays healthy!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

