Twin Pregnancy

37 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

Yep, still here. Still Pregnant.  But we made it to full term!  Holy geez, that’s insane!

005 006

per whattoexpect.com

Baby Is Full-Term 
Congratulations! At 37 weeks pregnant, you’ve got what is officially considered a full-term baby, even with three weeks to go. That means if your baby was to leave the wet nest this week, he or she would likely thrive. But it doesn’t mean he’s finished growing — in fact, he’s still packing on about a half an ounce per day or half a pound a week. At this age, the average fetus weighs about 6.5 pounds — boys, though, are likely to be heavier at birth than girls. And here’s a bit of boy baby trivia to back that one up: Moms carrying boys tend to eat more than moms carrying girls (a foreshadowing of teenage refrigerator raids to come). That makes it a little crowded in your uterus, so he’s probably not kicking as much, though he’s probably stretching, rolling a bit and wiggling (all of which you’ll be able to feel!).

Practicing for Birth
So what’s keeping your little one busy while waiting it out until D-day? Practice, practice, practice. Right now, your little superstar is busy rehearsing for his big debut, simulating breathing by inhaling and exhaling amniotic fluid, sucking on his or her thumb, blinking and pivoting from side to side (one day you feel the tushy on the left side, another day it has swung around to the right side).

Baby’s Head Is Huge!
Here’s an interesting fact: Your baby’s head (which, by the way, is still growing) will, at birth, be the same size circumference as his or her hips, abdomen and shoulders. And guess what’s making an impression (literally) these days on those shoulders and hips: fat — causing little dimples in those cute elbows and knees, shoulders and hip and creases and folds in the neck and wrists.

The bump – 37w1d

Oooooofffffa!  That’s a big ole belly!  And a picture with my self timer so I look much bigger than I really am.

Riggggghhhhtttttt……

37

NST – 37w0d (written in real time)

Our appointment was grrrrrrrreat!  So great.

Ok, so my blood pressure was a little high…134/82.  And Butterbean wouldn’t wake up so they had to use the baby tazer on him (it’s just a little thingy that vibrates and jostles the baby so they wake up a bit).

007

But the babies look fantastic.  And apparently I’ve been having contractions!  Show of hands…who is shocked I had no clue?  Yeah, crickets.  I had a couple that showed up on the monitor while I was there.  The nurse asked if I felt the tightening and it’s what I’ve been feeling over the last week.  I’ve been referring to the sensation to the “babies pushing on me”.  It feels like they’re both pushing their butts out as hard as they can…it’s super uncomfortable, but not painful.  And it’s accompanied by cramping but I’ve been having cramps for 2 weeks now.  It’s nothing to get all worked up over because random contractions can go on for days.

But we also met with our MFM doctor. She questioned my BP and I told her that was pretty good for me lately.  She asked what the plan was and Jerry and I just shrugged.  I told her our OB wanted them to cook for a while and she replied that her cut off is 38 weeks.  We’re going to see how my BP is tomorrow at my OB appt and she was going to call the office and let them know she’s fine signing off on an induction should I need it.  I told her we had an ultrasound scheduled for Monday, 4/27 and she just laughed and gave a sarcastic “Ok…”.  It didn’t appear she thought I would make it that long.  But she also thought I would deliver @ 35-36 weeks so who knows!

So little Jenny Control Freak has an end point!  Man, I feel 10000 times better when I have a plan in place.  I will be 38 weeks on 4/29.  If these beans don’t show up by then, they’ll induce me based on the hospital intake and doctor availability.  Which means….we’ll definitely have babies by next weekend!  Sweet!

Doctor’s appt – 37w1d (written in real time)

Weight gain – +39 lbs.  1st BP 154/90  2nd BP 132/70

My initial blood pressure reading was not good.  I came pretty close to another trip to L&D for more monitoring. But they had me lay on my left side for a few minutes and it came down.  Whew!  They did a quick listen to the heartbeats and they were nice and strong.

Guess how far I’m dilated?!?!  Zero centimeters.  Whomp Whomp.  (Btw, cervical checks suck.  Not the actual check but the 2 hours of cramping afterwards.  Not a fan.)    So basically nothing is going on in Babyland.

We scheduled my induction for 38 weeks, exactly.  At 11:59 pm on 4/29, we’ll report to L&D & get this party started. Hallelujah!  Yeah, I know…I could go into labor on my own before then…yada, yada, yada.  Let’s not get our hopes up.  These Beans are pretty comfy right where they are and there is no way they’re coming out on their own. Mother’s intuition.

How I’m feeling

Dare I say…I’m feeling pretty good?!?!  And I’m not lying!

My swelling has gone down considerably.  I’m not as achy. My back feels a little better and my joints aren’t as stiff.

I do have a giant belly that weighs 493 lbs.  I’ve been having lots of Braxton Hicks contractions and some annoying heartburn.  Pelvic pressure has been increasing…kind feels like I’ve been kicked in the crotch with a steel toed boot.  The cramps come and go, sometimes bad but not terrible overall.

But compared to how I felt over the last 2-3 weeks, this is fabulous!

Food

I want donuts.  That is all.

Mood

Still all over the place.  Happy, sad, grouchy, weepy, frustrated, giggly, overwhelmed…you name it, I got it. Hopefully if you interact with me, you catch me on an upswing.

Random Thoughts/Observations/Stuff

*  I’ve been binge watching a crapton of TV from Netflix.  Jerry and I just finished the first season of Bloodlines (definitely recommended) and now we’re getting sucked into Damages.  I’m also watching Parenthood when he’s not around.  Too sappy for him at the moment (I cry during every episode so I get it. I love those damn Bravermans!).

*  I’m surprisingly not too sad about having to be induced.  I feel Jerry and I have a few precious days left as a family of 2 (3 if you count Jacob) and I intend on savoring every minute.  Don’t get me wrong…I am so excited to meet our babies.  If you see me tearing up, it’s probably because that’s what I’m thinking about.  But our world is about to get rocked in the best possible way.  So we need to tear it up before they arrive!  And by “tear it up”…I mean sleep and watch movies and be lazy.

*  Less than a week and we will meet our babies!  Wow.

4 thoughts on “37 Weeks Pregnant with Twins”

  1. Yahoo!!! So excited for you. You look great, I don’t think your belly has gotten bigger in weeks! Your rock! I’ve been having that tightening too – and I thought it was their butts pressing up and out but the nurses at the hospital said its contractions. I have them all day and night but apparently no one is concerned. Parenthood. OMG I binge watched that last month and cried every.single.episode! I can’t wait for the final season to hit Netflix. Glad to hear you are feeling better…that is crazy that you get better as the weeks go on! Keep us posted – I can’t wait to read about these precious little babies! Good luck mama!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I swear that is the worst shirt for pictures. And my belly just keeps growing, I promise. Why don’t they describe contractions like that???? “It feels like your baby is pushing it’s butt out of your body”. Hello??

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Holy winter melons, I cannot believe you made it to 37 weeks! You will have babies by next week at the latest! That is amazing! Can’t wait to see them in those perfect coming home outfits!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

