The Beans

Life with Greyson and Fynnlee – 2 Weeks

My babies are 2 weeks old!  And they are 10000000 times more amazing than I ever thought they would be.

053

057 055

I’m working on a post for our birth story and my post partum recovery, but I wanted to try and keep this little diary current.  So I’m going to start out with our first two weeks.

Eat

Greyson was given Newborn formula in the NICU and he had 48 hours practicing eating out of a bottle.  I was able to pretty much exclusively breastfeed Fynnlee for our entire stay at the hospital, however, my milk didn’t come in until the 4th day. By the time we were discharged, she had lost 10% of her body weight.  We were fully prepared to supplement her with formula but once my milk came in…it came IN.  Like whoa.  I’ll talk a little more about it in my post partum update but I’m definitely not having any problems providing enough breast milk for 2 babies.

Fynn nurses like a champ.  She will take a bottle like a champ too and we haven’t had a lot of trouble with nipple confusion.

Greyson is a lazy eater.  He’ll nurse with a nipple shield but he never empties me out and a lot of time I end up supplementing him with an ounce or 2 of pumped milk.

We’re really still trying to find our breast feeding groove and I’m trying to remain pretty relaxed about it.  I’m having some Mommy guilt in that Fynnlee is nursed 75% of the time and Greyson about 15%.  I don’t want to miss out on the bonding aspect of nursing with him so that makes me kind of sad.  We keep working at it but it’s just easier and more efficient to feed him bottles most of the time.  I guess I should be focusing more on the fact that they are both getting breast milk exclusively (at least for now) and are really healthy.

We had a follow-up visit with our pediatrician and 4 days after our discharge from the hospital, both babies are back up to their birth weight.  So we’re doing something right!

Sleep

Like most newborns, these Beans have their days and nights mixed up.  During the day, they sleep A LOT.  They snooze for a stretch of up to 3 hours and then we eat, and play a little if they don’t end up in a milk coma immediately.  I know this is all imperative for their little bodies to grow so I’m not complaining.

We have the babies in our room at the moment in Rock n plays so we can be close if they cry.  That first night was out of control.  Jerry and I probably slept for an hour, total.  We’d get one baby to sleep and the other would start to cry.  I’d feed, he’d change a diaper, I’d pump, he’d rock and console.  At one point we were both pacing around the room with a fussy baby and we just looked at each other and laughed.  Nothing else we could do!  Things got a little better after that night.  We are finding a groove and figuring out what works for each baby.

Fynnlee is a great nurser…and if she’s nursed for a good 30 minutes, she’s a good sleeper.  Mr. Greyson is a bit tougher.  He’s not eating more than 1-1.5 oz at a time and therefore isn’t sleeping as well.  He’ll fuss for an hour or two and if he does fall asleep, he’ll scream bloody murder if you try and put him down.  We have some kinks to work out with this little guy.

Poop

Eat, sleep…and poop. The three things that make up the majority of a newborn’s time.  We’re racking up 10-12 diaper changes per baby per day.  Thank goodness we thought to stockpile diapers before these babes were born!   Pampers Swaddlers are all we’ve used thus far and (knock on wood)…zero blowouts or leaks.  And I’d like to note that Jerry has changed about 2938 diapers thus far and has yet to wear a pair of gloves.  Hate to say I told you so….

Favorite Things

Zip Front sleepers – Forget onsies.  Forget the snap-up sleepers.  For the first 2 weeks, these Beans have lived in zip front sleepers.  Our favorite are the Circo ones from Target as they run on the small side and are perfect for Greyson.  Carter’s make some good ones as well.  Snaps = bad…zippers = good.

FYI…Gerber brand – way too big.  But how cute is my little nugget?

034

Boppy Pillows – there is a reason these are on everyone’s must have list.  I don’t really use them for breastfeeding but the babies sleep in them all day long.  I know a lot of people swear by the Boppy Newborn loungers but I don’t really think they are needed.  I just throw a blanket over the Boppy and they work like the loungers.

037

Aden & Anais swaddle blankets – these really are as great as everyone says.  They’re soft, lightweight and give a little girth to my little babes, making it easier to snuggle them.

24 hour old Fynnlee snug as a bug in her A&A swaddle.

016

Basics Nursing Cami – These are amazing!  They are so comfortable and have great support.  My belly is like a bowl full of jelly right now and they hold everything in nice and snug without making me feel like I can’t breathe.

Jerry

I thought I was head over heels for my husband before these Beans came along.  But watching him with our littles takes it to a whole other level.  He is already proving to be an amazing father and I couldn’t ask for a better partner.

Melt my heart… she already has him wrapped around her little finger.

018

My boys.

010

He is so good about getting up with the babies at night and giving me a little break.  And I try to repay the favor as much as possible as he’s back to work already.

Jerry and I are already proving to be a pretty kick ass team. We balance each other out and keep everything in perspective.  I’m really proud of us for being pretty chill parents thus far and not getting stressed out about much.  Let’s hope that trend can continue!

Life is Good

What did I ever do before these two came along?  I can’t even remember.  I don’t want to.

GreyFynn

I can’t wait to watch them grow up together.

005

My sweet, sweet Greyson.

017

And my spunky little Fynnlee.

001

You make me better in every way.  I’m so proud to be your Mom.

041

7 thoughts on “Life with Greyson and Fynnlee – 2 Weeks”

  1. So so so happy for you! I’m happy to hear that you’ve already introduced bottle and boobie as I want the hubs and whoever else is here to be able to help feed. They are simply adorable! So happy to see you are getting into the groove! Can’t wait to read your birth story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my Jen and Jerry, you did well… They are precious and I at least can see so much of Jerry in Greyson and Fynn looks just like you Jen…. All could change over the next few months, it still does for me and mine are 8 and 10! Enjoy every minute…. Sounds lone you have no worries in feeding them! No worries on Greysonc. I think it’s a boy thing….. Neither of mine would latch on and there was always nipple confusion! Lol😃. Devin had reflux and would barf every ounce of milk I ever fed him! He never kept anything down or would latch on. A disaster. SO all sounds right as rain there… Keep pressing on…. You both are doing amazing….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am just getting a chance to catch up on all your posts! I am in tears over this one. Beautiful. You and Jerry do make a great team. Greyson sounds just like Oliver! Loves being held, hates sleeping “alone” and doesn’t eat enough to make him a heavy sleeper. But hopefully with age it will get better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

