The Beans

Our Birth Story

I’m sorry, yet thrilled, to say that our Birth Story is pretty boring.  I guess it was just the overall theme of my pregnancy.  I am certainly not complaining!

I was pretty against posting bare bellied pictures of myself online. But the massive girth of my bump was too damn impressive to keep all to myself!

38 weeks, 1 day of cooking these Beans.  And my belly button never popped out!  But my skin was screaming for mercy.

002 003

Our c-section was scheduled for Thursday 4/30 at 11:00.  We were to report to Labor & Delivery at 8:30 for pre-op bloodwork, paperwork and general settling in.  Shockingly, I managed to sleep pretty well.  My last night of uninterrupted sleep for a looooong time.  I think my body knew it needed to rest.

We were smart enough (actually, Jerry’s Mom was smart enough) to take one last preggo picture before we left. Today we become Mom & Dad!

001

Of course we hit traffic on the way to the hospital.  There was an accident on the highway that forced Jerry to take a rather inventive detour.  We were only 10 minutes late checking into L&D.

They didn’t waste any time taking us back to pre-op.  It was a big open room with 4 bays and we could hear a Mom cuddling her brand new baby right across from us. At one point the baby cried and Jerry and I just looked at each other and teared up.  That would be us soon!

We had two nurses assigned to our care and they were both fantastic.  They took my blood pressure, temperature and other vitals, along with 87 tubes of blood.  I changed into my pretty little gown and we patiently waited our turn.  The Anesthesia team stopped by to explain the spinal and my doctor stopped by to check in with us and within no time at all, it was time to head back to the OR.

I had been warned there would be a lot of people in the OR and they weren’t lying!  Holy geez.  My doctor, 2 OB residents, the Anesthesiologist plus 2 residents, a nurse anesthetist, my 2 nurses, 2 nurses for the babies, 2 pediatricians and the NICU team.  All for our little Beans!

**  So, I guess I should mention that while I was really excited, I was never really nervous.  Which is not like me at all!  I felt very calm and really trusted my doctors and hospital team.  I’m convinced that having a relaxed attitude really lead to an excellent birth experience for me.

They administered my spinal and seriously, it was no big deal.  The nurse anesthetist stood in front of me and talked to me the whole time.  I was instructed to round out my back (which wasn’t all that easy with my enormous belly!) and try to relax.  I felt a little pinch in my back (less painful than having blood drawn) and then nothing.  They had me lay down and got me all situated with a curtain in front of me so I couldn’t see anything.

I think the thing I was dreading the most was the catheter.  Really?!  I wasn’t nervous about being sliced open but I was scared of the catheter?!  I’m so weird.  Anyway, it was also no big deal.  I didn’t feel anything. And the next thing I knew, they went to get Jerry.  It was go time!

There were a lot of people distracting me.  I was thankful for Jerry and the nurse talking to me a lot.  We talked about baby names and guessed how big they’d be.  And then I heard “Here is Baby A!” and Fynnlee let out a huge cry.  They announced the time (11:46 am) and Jerry and I just listened to her scream.  It was the best sound I had ever heard.  Lots of tears from me too…she was here.  “Here is Baby B!”…more crying from Greyson at 11:47 am.  And just like that…in 2 minutes, we had our family.  Jerry left me for a few minutes to go check them out.  I found out Fynnlee weighed 6lbs 7oz and was 19.5 inches long.  Her APGAR scores were 8 and 9.  Greyson was 5lbs 4oz and was 17 inches long.  His APGAR scores also looked great at 8 and 9.  We had two big healthy babies and my heart burst into a million pieces.

The nurse informed me they looked so good that the NICU team and the pediatrician left the OR.  And then they brought them over to meet me.  Our first family portrait!

005

It seemed like no time at all and they were finished stitching me up.  Things got a little fuzzy when they wheeled me back to recovery so I don’t have too many details.  But I do remember the nurse bringing them into our bay and I finally got a really good look at them.  They were the most perfect, beautiful babies I had ever seen.  Greyson Paul on the left and Fynnlee Ann on the right.

006

They did so tests on them and we discovered that Greyson’s blood sugar was a low.  It needs to be at 40 and it was 34.  The “stork nurse” picked him up and said “You have 10 minutes to try and feed him to get his blood sugar up or he’s going to the NICU”.

“But I don’t know what the hell I’m doing…and neither does he.”

007

Needless to say, Greyson failed to latch and get any sort of nurishment, so off he went to the NICU.  I knew he was in the best hands but I was pretty upset.

He ended up staying in the NICU for 48 hours.  His blood sugar kept dropping and they couldn’t regulate his temperature.  I was hooked up to an IV and a cathetar, so Jerry went to the NICU every 3 hours to feed and cuddle with him while I hung out in the room with Fynnlee.

010

He finally joined his family on Saturday afternoon and I can’t even put into words how good it felt to have us all together.  I spent a good part of the day snuggling with my love bug.

014  015

We were really ready to go home Sunday morning.  As soon as the nurse came in to take my vitals at 7:00am, I started suggesting an early release (they usually release patients starting at 11 am).  She pushed our paperwork through and we got our little babies ready to take their first car ride.

022

Home sweet home…and time for the real fun to begin!

029

4 thoughts on “Our Birth Story”

  1. Fingers crossed that mine is as smooth as yours…minus the bed rest I’m on now! Staying calm is key and somehow I’m doing it!! You’re inspiring me with those little angels!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved waking up to see this! So glad everything was smooth sailing and relatively boring! They are just perfect and it makes me sooooo excited to meet our littles! Keep the updates and squish face pics coming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

