The Beans

Life with Greyson and Fynnlee – 3 Months

3MONTHS

Everyone told me that each day gets a little better.  They were right.  Holy geez…these Beans are so much fun right now!

003

I know, I know.  Shut up.  How are 12 week old babies fun?  They are!  They laugh, and coo and speak their own little Bean language.  I was told by someone smarter then me to mimic their sounds and I’ve been doing just that.  Greyson likes to “Oooooo, Oooooo, Oooooo”…like a monkey.  So I do that.  And Fynnlee likes to squeal and yell “ACK!”  So I do that.

I sound like a lunatic but I don’t care. They think I’m hilarious.

They’re also grabbing all kinds of things (my hair, my shirt, my fingers) and kicking up a storm.  They will play under the activity mat for a loooooooong time, talking to Mr. Sunshine and swatting at Mr. Frog. (old picture, same concept)

037

They love to lay around naked (well, in a diaper…I have my limits)…and have a dance party.

003

They are such a perfect compliment to each other.  Fynnlee is the Yin to Greyson’s Yang.

Greyson

GREY3MONTHS

Unofficial weight – 13 lbs

Unofficial length – 24 inches

Size 1 diapers.  Size 0-3 clothes (some 3-6 depending on the brand)

The race is on to catch up to Fynnlee!  He is currently just as long as she is but he’s behind her in weight by about a pound or so.

I die over this kid. He is so stinkin adorable.  And he looks like such a big boy in his bumbo…<sniff>

002

Mister has traded in his chicken legs for some deliciously chunky thighs.  And his hair is growing back.  He looks like he’s headed to college in this picture.

023

Sleep

We put him down around 7ish (drowsy but awake) and most of the time, he’s asleep within 10 minutes.  But this child will entertain himself in his crib for up to an hour before crying out of boredom.  He wakes up anywhere from midnight to 2:30 to eat but he sucks down a bottle and is back in the crib within 15 minutes.  He’s back up again between 4-5 and generally is not a fan of going back to sleep afterwards.  We typically get a 30-45 minute nap in the morning and afternoon and one big 2-3 hour one mid day.

So not too shabby overall.  At the time this post went to press, we had a solid 7-4:30 nights sleep.  I can’t complain about that!

011

Eats

We made the switch from Newborn to Infant formula around week 11 and it was pretty seamless.  Greyson will consume around 30 – 35 oz of formula in a day.  I’m no longer feeding him at regular intervals.  He lets us know when he’s hungry by getting fussy and screaming for his food.  It’s generally every 2-3 hours.  But our little guy is putting on some serious weight and all of this chowing down is helping him to fill out.  And catch up to his sister.  He’s no longer my little peanut.

Big fan of shark week.

002 007

We had our evaluation with The Alliance for Infants and Toddlers and Greyson qualified for treatment with a mild case of Torticollis.  Developmentally, this was the only thing of concern for the therapist which is a great sign.

So we meet with a fabulous Physical Therapist once a week and she gives us stretches and suggestions for treatment.  Most of what I’m doing for him now is positioning him so he has to look away from the direction he favors.  For example, I make sure he’s on the far left side of his crib so that he has to turn his head to the right to see his mobile (he favors the left side).  And we do some positioning that will give him a gentle stretch on that tight side.

008

I’ve already seen marked improvement in just 2 weeks.  I’m so thankful that this program exists!

This little boy has completely stolen my heart.  He has the most delightful personality and remains the sweetest, most agreeable child I know.  That’s not to say he doesn’t have fussy times but I completely forget about them as soon as he flashes his signature smile.  We have special little games we play and I love that I can get him to laugh.  He has changed so much over this past month.  I swear, every morning when he wakes up, he’s gotten bigger!  And more handsome.

012

Greyson Paul, you are simply amazing.

002Fynnlee

fYNN3MONTHS

Unofficial weight – 14.5 lbs

Unofficial length – 24 inches

Can squeeze into Size 1 diapers but Size 2 are going to be the norm within the next week.  Busting out of the 0-3m & mostly into 3-6m clothes

Seriously… I can’t even take the sweetness of this little girl.

007

That’s right, I said sweet.  She’s still spunky but there is a new sweetness to our little Miss and it just makes her even more irresistible.

Eats

Fynnlee also handled the transition from Newborn to Infant formula without issue.  She’s consumes about the same amount as Greyson, sometimes a little less.  Girlfriend has chosen sleep over eating at night and her naps are often twice as long as his.  We give her a mix of 4 and 6 oz at a clip.

Soooooooooooo big!  Ugh, those cheeks are so pinchable.

001

We love to joke about Fynnlee’s size but honestly, she’s pretty darn perfect.  She’s solid but she’s not super pudgy.  We just tend to compare her to Greyson, who is on the lanky side.  That belly…it’s fabulous!

001

Hates the bumbo, loves to sit up (and watch TV).  She is killing it in tummy time too.

002 027

Sleep

Fynn is a champion sleeper.  She loves her naps and will crash for 3-4 hours in the afternoon.  And we had our first solid 10 hour overnight stretch a few days shy of 12 weeks and she’s been sleeping through the night ever since.  She is the happiest baby in the morning.  Honestly, this is how she wakes up every day.

028

And though she be but little, she is fierce…”

Forget that I thought that quote was from Beyonce, (embarrassing yet true) but wow does it sum up Fynnlee!  She is the perfect combination of determined, spirited and charming.  She will wrap you around her little finger in a split second. She wants to be independent but not at the cost of being all by herself. She does not want to miss out on anything! I can’t wait to watch her grow and see that little personality blossom even more.  Oh, this one is going to keep us on our toes.

001

Fynnlee Ann, you are the little girl I’ve always dreamed of.

001

Back to work

After 12 amazing weeks at home with my Beans, it is time to come back to work.  I am so fortunate that I got to spend so much time with them in these early days.  And I’m even more fortunate that their daycare is right at my office.  It’s a Bright Horizons care center and the staff is fantastic.  They made the transition back to the working world pretty easy on me.

Do my children look like they’re suffering?

grey fynn

They send us daily updates on the Beans and I get to pop in and visit a couple of times during the day.  All of the babies in their care are very content and happy.  In all of the times I’ve stopped by, there is rarely any crying!

They read books and make art projects and take trips outside in the stroller.  We made a great choice with Bright Horizons!

007  017

031 015

Crib Transition

Jerry We decided to move the babies out of our room into their nursery around 10 weeks.  Up to that point, they had slept in their rock n plays right next to my bed where I wanted them to stay forever.  So we kept to our bedtime routine of bath, swaddle, bottle, shush and placed them into their cribs.  Turn on their new mobiles and within 10 minutes, they were out.

What the hell was I worried about?

019

My babies are rockstars.  This is crazy easy…

020

BAM!  They woke up about every 2 hours for the first 2-3 nights.  And then it took forever to get them back to sleep.  WHAT HAVE WE DONE!?

I’m happy to report that we stuck it out and by the 4th night, they were sleeping soundly with one wake up a piece.  Jerry was right (don’t tell him I said that)…they love their cribs.  And by the 10th night, Fynnlee slept from 7-5 and Greyson from 7-2:30.  We are learning that babies need an adjustment period and we just need to have some patience.  They will eventually figure it out.

3 Month Photo Dump

BFFs.  She suddenly has to be touching him if they’re laying next to each other.  #heartexploding

016

We are never going to let the babies sleep in our bed.  Ever.

Well, maybe just in the mornings.  For extra snuggles…

022

Feeling crabby

015

Hanging with Oliver on the 4th of July.

IMG_0478

I know I’m biased but these are the most beautiful babies that ever existed.

019

Yep, he’s flipping me off over this outfit.  I don’t care…they’re adorable.

022

Pants are for suckers.

007

They’re liking their car seats a lot more these days…makes getting out and about for dinner or shopping much easier!

016 020

We selfie.

025

Jerry’s soccer number on Grey’s Pirates shirt.

012

I love our little family.

013

I will never say it enough.  These two are the best thing I’ve ever done.

001

6 thoughts on “Life with Greyson and Fynnlee – 3 Months”

  1. I can’t even take their cuteness!!! I love how mine are similar to Greyson & Fynnlee- Gianna is about a pound bigger than Lorenzo and seems they have similar personalities to your babies!! I need to know your trick to getting them to sleep those long hours!!!!

    Like

  2. I don’t know why, but this post made me teary eyed! I think because they are growing and are so beautiful and it is wonderful to see you so happy. We are truly blessed mommies! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

