The Beans

Life with Greyson & Fynnlee – 4 Months

In keeping with my screwed up timing this week, Fridays with Fynnlee is being pushed to Saturday.  I’ll get it together next week!

In it’s place we have their 4 Month Update!  They are currently 4 months, 11 days old but this picture was taken on the actual date.  Look at those chipmunk cheeks!  You can’t tell by this picture but they are just about the same length.

4MONTHS

Every day I think “this is the best time yet!” and then a new day starts and it’s even better.  They just change so much and get more and more interactive.  Every day is my favorite day!width="225"

Doctors Appointment – 4m10d old

008

Greyson

011
Our little man has a bit of a head cold…that’s why his coloring looks a little off.
Weight:
1 month: 6lbs 12oz (0%)
2 months: 9 lbs 10 oz (6 %)
4 months: 15lbs 3oz (35%)
Height:
1 month: 19.5 inches (0 %)
2 months:  21 inches (1 %)
4 months: 24.25 (8%)
Head circumference: 43.5 cm (89 %)
Wearing:  3 & some 6 month clothes, Size 2 diapers

This guy is growing by leaps and bounds!  He still has a giant head but it’s not off-the-charts huge so that’s a good thing. We have an appointment at the end of the month with the Craniofacial Center at Children’s Hospital.  Greyson will definitely need a helmet due to the torticollis causing his head to be really misshaped.  But not to worry…we’re gonna slap some black and gold on that sucker and he’ll be the cutest little Steeler fan you’ve ever seen!

He’s hitting all of his developmental milestones and is overall pretty healthy.

Fynnlee

009

Weight:
1 month: 8lbs 12oz (38%)
2 months:  11lbs 6oz (66%)
4 months: 17lbs 6oz (92%)
Height:
1 month: 20.25 inches (14 %)
2 months: 22.25 inches (58%)
4 months: 24.75 inches (53%)
Head circumference:  42.0 cm (80%)
Wearing: 6 month clothes, Size 3 diapers

You read that correctly…92% for weight.  She gained 6 lbs in 2 months. We have a good eater on our hands, that’s for sure!  I asked if we should be concerned and the answer was “not at all”.

Fynn is going to be measured by the Craniofacial doctor as well, but our pediatrician didn’t think she will need a helmet.  She has a pretty big flat spot on the back of her head but it’s starting to round out. Lots more tummy time and suggestive positioning have helped.  I also bought a BenBat pillow for her to use when she lays on her back at daycare or in a swing/bouncer.

They had their 4 month shots…no big deal.  I cried more than they did.  We get to start solids “whenever we are ready” and it’s time to baby proof!  Jerry and I are going to be busy this weekend.

Fynnlee Ann

Just look at my little squish.  She is 17# of pure perfection.

4MonthsFynn

Sleep
Fynn has always been our champion sleeper. She’s been snoozing from 7pm to 5/5:30am since she was 2 1/2 months old. The dreaded 4 month sleep regression didn’t hit her too hard. Just a few wake ups here and there…but for the most part, she still loves her sleep. And don’t even think of messing with it. You want to see a pissed off Fynnlee…keep her awake past 7 pm. Sweetness & light turns into a Crankapotomus on a dime.

Eat
Does it appear that we have any issues with eating? Fynnlee downs 6 ozs when she wakes and again before bed. And she has three 8oz bottles during the day. We switched from Enfamil to Kirkland formula about a week ago without much issue. I love all things Costco!! I was a little nervous to mess with a good thing but I read a bunch reviews online that it was easily tolerated so we went for it. I don’t even think she noticed. Our bank account did though…$18 for 40oz vs $25 for 27oz. It was a no brainer for me. These kids are blowing through formula at an alarming pace.

Stuff
* She’ll tolerate the bumbo now. Not for long…but she’ll do it.
* Her favorite toy is the Nuby Crab Teether
* She chatters non-stop. I never get sick of our conversations
* Wheels on the Bus and Good Morning to You are her favorite songs.
* She grabs at everything…my hair and necklaces are her favorites
* Still loves the playmat and the swing is her current baby gadget of choice

Fynnlee photo dump

008 005 249 269

059 054

Greyson Paul

I could stare at this little dude all day long.  He is the most delightful baby in the history of ever.

4MonthsGrey

Sleep
G man didn’t handle the 4 month sleep regression as well as his big sister. But then again, he never really hit a stride of consistently sleeping though the night. We did drop his nightly feeding at around 3 1/2 months. His 2 am bottle became shushing, patting and replacing the pacifier. He adjusted quickly but around the last week in August, we noticed a shift into multiple wake-ups during the night. Lots of fussing and whining that was easily diffused with his bink and the mobile. He would quickly fall back to sleep but then be up again a short time later. One night it was every hour…on the hour. In hindsight, I think the cradle cap was making him itchy and uncomfortable and that, combined to the normal disruption that occurs around 4 months, made for some looooooooong nights for Jerry and I. We’ve recently had some good stretches though. 7-3:30/4:00 and I can’t really complain about that. I think once we introduce some solids and get this itchy-head-thing under control, we’ll be all golden.

Eat
Greyson takes in 2 six ounce bottles and 3 seven ounce bottles every day. Really, the only time he cries during the day is if he’s hungry. He had no issue transitioning to the Kirkland formula either.  Solids are gonna be so fun!

Torticollis update
We’ve been meeting with the physical therapist once a week and it’s really making such a difference. We do stretches at home and I’m super cognizant of how I position him. We always want him looking to the right. The range of motion with his neck has really improved and he will move his head from side to side without prompting. He does favor the left when he’s tired and I think it’s a comfort position for him. Its slow progress but we’ll get there!

Stuff
* Rolled from tummy to back on 9/5
* Loves any song with do do do do do do in it. Manha Manha is a particular favorite.
* The Baby Einsten bendy ball will occupy him for hours
* Has made crazy huge improvements in tummy time.
* Loves to grab everything

Greyson photo dump

007 058

006 227 223 214

Random Thoughts/observations/stuff

These Beans are best friends right now. I know it won’t be like this forever so I’m cherishing it while I can.  They are always reaching for each other or holding hands. It’s unbelievably adorable.

image

 007  006

I still can’t say enough good things about their daycare.  My kids are thriving and their teachers are a huge part of that.

026 006

This picture cracks me up.  Frick and Frack, I tell ya…

004

We take these Beans everywhere with us now and they are so well behaved.  Again, it won’t last forever, so we’re taking full advantage of it now!

206 014

I love being their Mom more than I ever thought possible.  I’m so proud of the little people they are. I know all Moms think their kids are awesome and amazing.  But mine really are.

015

And I still love Greyson’s outfit.

2 thoughts on “Life with Greyson & Fynnlee – 4 Months”

  1. Holy cow Jen…. Amazing, adorable babies. I never questioned for a second how awesome of a mom you’d be. You’re surpassing that by leaps and bounds girl. I love reading your logs about them too…. Adorable pics and stores about them…

    Like

  2. I adore these children!!! The pictures are the cutest. I can’t believe how big Fynnlee is, but who doesn’t love a chubby baby? I’m so glad she is sleeping well for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

