Daily Life, Fynnlee, Greyson, Jenny, Jerry, The Beans

Day in the Life – Winter 2016

Day in the Life posts are some of my favorites as a blog reader…and I’m super excited to be linking up with Julia @ My Life in Transition for Winter 2016. Considering I’m using this blog as a big ole diary of our life, I should have started doing these a long time ago! But there’s no time like the present…so here goes.

January 21st, 2016
Babies are 8 1/2 months old (or exactly 38 weeks)

4:15 am: I hear Greyson fussing in the nursery. I stumble into his room and replace the Bink he’s spit out at some point. Turn the music on his mobile and stumble back to bed.
4:20: Fynnlee starts to babble and I drift in and out of sleep
4:27: Greyson is fussing louder and I nudge Jerry to go shush him. Jerry is the baby whisperer.
4:45: There is a symphony of sounds coming from the nursery…Fynnlee singing and Greyson whining…and Jerry announces “they’re both up”.
Normally Jerry does diapers while I warm bottles and take out Jacob, but for some reason this morning I decided to grab Greyson and take him with me. (See his top teeth?? I can’t stand the cuteness)

Make it quick, Jacob…it’s 11 degrees outside.

5:00: Bottles are warm and babies are dry. We tag team feeding and then put them on the floor in our room to play while we get ready.

5:20: Jerry hits the shower and I start beautifying. I keep an eye on the babes while I get ready. There are random stops…someone spits up, Fynnlee falls over 4 times, Greyson gets stuck in the corner…but I manage to get myself dressed and whatnot within 45 minutes.

6:05: Greyson poops so he’s first to get dressed. (Not his poop face…)

6:15: I get Fynnlee dressed…apparently we still think it’s Christmas around here.

6:25: The Babes play on the floor while I get their bottles and food ready for the school.

Greyson needs his extra clothes supply replenished as he soaked himself with drool twice yesterday. They each get 2 bottles (Greyson 7oz and Fynn 8oz) and a fruit/veggie puree. Fynn has apple/green bean & Greyson has apple/prune (little dude needs a little help getting things going).

6:35: Jerry takes Jacob out for his long walk and I pack up the kids and our junk.
6:38: On the road! We have an 8 minute drive to work/daycare
6:46: Check in the kids, fill out their daily experience sheets, fill out a form to dispense saline for Fynnlee (she had a bloody nose due to dry sinuses) and put their food in the fridge. Kiss, Kiss…I’m off to work!
7:10: Grab coffee in the cafeteria and head to my desk.
7:15: Eat breakfast and fire up the computer. Work, work, work.

I get a daily report on their day from the Daycare. Their notes in italics.
7:55: Greyson gets a 7 oz bottle. Fynnlee gets an 8 oz bottle
8:10: Diaper change for Greyson
8:15: Diaper change for Fynnlee
9:45: Fynnlee goes down for a nap
9:50: Time for more coffee and a snack. I’m back on a Clementine kick, big time. Maybe I’m pregnant.

10:00: Diaper change for Fynnlee
10:05: Greyson starts his nap.
11:30: Fynn wakes up and gets a fresh diaper
11:35: Head to daycare to see the babes. Greyson is asleep when I get there but he wakes up when within 10 minutes.

11:30 We play for a bit. Fynnlee is trying so hard to crawl. Not in this picture though.

11:45: I help feed the Beans their lunch (I try not to take too many pics at daycare for privacy reasons)
12:00: I head back to work and eat lunch at my desk. Work, work, work.
12:40: Diaper change for Greyson
1:15: Diaper change for Fynnlee

1:45: What in the World hits my Inbox. Daycare sends us a daily newsletter of the day’s activity. It’s pretty much the highlight of my afternoon.

2:10: Diaper change for Greyson. Greyson starts his nap.
2:25: Fynnlee starts her nap
3:00: Greyson wakes up and gets a diaper change
3:15: 7 oz bottle for Greyson
3:20: Fynnlee wakes up and gets a fresh diaper and an 8 oz bottle

4:00: I head to daycare to pick up the kids. Jerry meets me to do the heavy lifting.

4:15: We get home and get the kids situated on the floor. Jerry plays with them while I empty the dishwasher.

It’s a daily occurrence.

4:35: Jerry has some work to do so I put the kids in the jumpers and they entertain themselves while I prepare bottles and food for tonight and tomorrow. Helmets off for their hour or 2 of free time!

Bottles for bedtime, wake-up and daycare ready to go! Pumpkin, banana, spinach puree for tomorrow’s lunch.

5:00 Time for dinner!

Fynnlee has mangos and bananas

And Greyson enjoys green beans and apples. Oatmeal mixed in for both!

5:45: We facetime with Grandma & Poppa in Florida and the kids tell them stories and show them their playtime skills.  I pop our dinner in the oven (Salsa Chicken).

I get the kids room ready for bed (fill up humidifier, get the ipad set up, lay out sleep sacks) and pick out their clothes for the next day. We’re expecting a big snow storm so I choose appropriate outfits.

6:00: Kiddos are getting cranky and rubbing their eyes. No baths tonight so I take Fynnlee upstairs first to get changed into jammies.  And a bib bc omgsomuchdrool!

6:10: Next up is Greyson.

I have to clean up a bit more so I plop him in the (dry) tub for a couple of minutes so he can’t get into trouble. Brilliant plan until he squeezes water from his ducky all over him and gets soaked. New jammies follow.

6:20: I feed Greyson

and Jerry takes Fynnlee

6:30: Both babies are asleep in their cribs so I finish up dinner. Corn and black bean sauté comes together quickly.

7:00 Jerry and I eat and watch The Challenge. We tag team clean up and are relaxing by 7:45.

8:00: We watch Flip or Flop

8:30: I take my shower

9:09 Lights out. 4:15 am sneaks up on you.

And that is a little peek into our day.

 

17 thoughts on “Day in the Life – Winter 2016”

  1. Thanks so much for sharing Jen. So much fun to see the kiddos up close and personal. The are precious and such a joy. You have a long day and you handle it all so graciously.

    Love to all and thanks for a peek inside your day!!

    Aunt Midge

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. I am exhausted peeking into your day…. I so remember those times, but I wasn’t pulling double duty.! You are a natural! They sure are adorable. It must be so nice too to have them there where you work, and an check in on them, how awesome….

    Like

    1. It is so nice! I would have a much harder time working full time if I didn’t get to see them mid day. I know the time is coming to phase it out (and get back to the gym at lunch) but I’m holding on as long as I can!

      Like

  3. I love it. It shows how much we have to do with our babies!!! I was up at 4:40 am this morning and it was far too early. Haha. When do they get their helmets off? My girls loved their hour of helmet free time!

    Like

    1. Misery loves company! Fynn is just about finished. We have our next scan on the 12th and I’m confident she’ll be done. Greyson probably has another month or two to go. He’s made huge improvements but the extra time will be really beneficial. I’m ready to be done!

      Like

  4. That’s fantastic that their daycare is right there in the same building you work! Sounds like they are really on top of things too, sending notes of their day and that daily newsletter! Does your husband work in the same building too?

    Like

    1. It’s definitely ideal! He does not but he travels all day for work and we live 5 minutes from my office. He’s so good about helping me with them…they’re 20+ lbs each now so it’s tough for me to do alone!

      Like

  5. I never considered the logistics of having to pick up two babies at once from daycare. So nice that your hubby can meet you there to help. Your kids are adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

