Fynnlee, Greyson

Life with Greyson & Fynnlee – 9 Months

The Beans are nine months old. NINE MONTHS!!! …nine months…{{{shaking head}}}


I get it…I’m a broken record…but come on! It’s so insane to me that they are already 9 months old. Annnnnnnd they’ll be a year old in 3 months.

STOP IT!!

Despite all of this time warp nonsense, I have to admit…9 months is pretty awesome. I know I say every month is my favorite month, but 9 months is my favorite month! We are sleeping 10-11 hours without waking (much). They love to play together. They know their names and are so interactive with us. We have an army crawler and a butt scootcher so they’re just becoming mobile.

Doctor’s Appointment – 9 months

 

Greyson would not sit still for a picture. He almost rocketed himself off the table over that crinkly paper. 

We had their 9 month appointment yesterday. And I had omgsomanyquestions! Most of which I already know the answer to but I am me and need reassurance from 27 people that they are on the right track. My current concerns, Are they getting too much formula? And Fynnlee’s eating. And their mobility.

Basically, we have nothing to worry about. Fynnlee will eventually figure out the eating situation. The amount of formula they are receiving is fine. We’re to continue to introduce more foods and definitely any potential allergen before age 1. Exception: no honey and no cow’s milk.

He is not worried about their mobility at all. They will crawl, walk, run on their own terms and what they’re doing now is very age appropriate.

Fynnlee Ann

Weight:
Birth: 6lbs 7oz
1 month: 8lbs 12oz (38%)
2 months: 11lbs 6oz (66%)
4 months: 17lbs 6oz (92%)
6 (1/2) months: 20lbs 2oz (94%)
9 months: 21lbs 15 oz (93%)
Height:
Birth: 19.5 inches
1 month: 20.25 inches (14 %)
2 months: 22.25 inches (58%)
4 months: 24.75 inches (53%)
6 (1/2) months: 26.25 inches (44%)
9 months: 29 inches (62%
Head: 42.25 (84%)

As you can see, Fynn’s weigh gain has slowed but she’s getting longer. Everyone said that would happen. She’s still a big baby but she’s leaning out.

At 9 months, Fynnlee Ann:

* is (for the 3rd month in a row)…almost crawling. We’re at the closest point yet. She gets on her hands and knees but just can’t quite figure out how to move forward.
* has 2 teeth (bottom 2) and one poking through the top
* will take shaky steps if you hold her hands.
* still babbles non-stop. Ba, Da, La, AAAAAaaaaaahhhh are her favorite sounds
* definitely likes to be the boss. She also likes to steal whatever any other baby has
* thinks sneezing is hilarious.
* leaned to click her tongue about a month ago and is driving the dog crazy
* can go from belly to sitting

Greyson Paul


Weight:
Birth: 5lbs 4 oz
1 month: 6lbs 12oz (0%)
2 months: 9 lbs 10 oz (6 %)
4 months: 15lbs 3oz (35%)
6 (1/2) months: 17lbs 15oz (46%)
9 months: 19lbs 11oz (49%)
Height:
Birth: 17.75 inches
1 month: 19.5 inches (0 %)
2 months: 21 inches (1 %)
4 months: 24.25 (8%)
6 (1/2) months: 26 inches (11%)
9 months: 28.5 inches (15%)
Head: 46.50 (87%)

Greyson is steadily packing on the pounds and getting longer. I can’t believe he’s only a 1/2 inch shorter than Fynnlee.

At 9 months, Greyson:

* Has 5 teeth, and one on the way
* is a crazy fast army crawler.
* loves books and the remote
* is super laid back. But he’s getting a little ornery side to him.
* loves baths and is a total water baby
* is starting to pull himself up on things.
* Will stand with assistance

Both kiddos are in size 4 diapers and 9-12 month clothes. Fynnlee fits well in the 12-18 stuff from Gymboree but their clothes run small IMO.

Eat

So here’s the thing about me. I find something that works and I stick with it. Like STICK WITH IT. I thrive on routine and when we get a good thing going, I don’t deviate. Now, I’m not going to beat myself up too much here because…Hello. Look at the size of my kiddos. They’re definitely getting enough to eat. And, how many 9 month olds have eaten spinach, kale and mango on a regular basis? I’m a little obsessed with offering a variety of foods and they are getting all kinds of fruits and veggies. But we haven’t done much in the way of trying chunkier foods. Or meat or eggs or other proteins. Number one, because Fynnlee vomits every. single. time. something with substance hits her tongue. And number two, I’m petrified of choking.

I was all set on taking the Baby Led Weaning approach to solids. But then on Thanksgiving I gave Greyson a whole green bean to munch on and completely panicked when he actually started eating it. So I took it from him. And we’ve stuck with purees. Now…he’s had puffs & yogurt melts (which I break in half) & bites of carrot and banana (the size of a pea). And he does fine with them and is probably ready to move onto more substantial foods. So I shouldn’t hold him back because Fynnlee is not. Right? Right.

So what are they eating at the moment? All in pureed form:

Fruits: apples, pears, mango, blueberries, banana, strawberries, raspberries, peaches, oranges, prunes
Veggies: Sweet potato, carrot, green beans, kale, spinach, peas, squash, broccoli, zucchini, corn
Grains: brown rice, oatmeal, millet, quinoa

They still prefer their veggies with a little fruit added and we do a lot of fruit veggie combos. I just mix together what sounds good and taste it to make sure it’s yummy. 99% of the time, they eat it right up.

Sleep

I’m not going to say it out loud because you know what happens when I do, so I’ll just say that I’m getting 7+ solid, uninterrupted hours of sleep every night. Granted, I’m in bed by 9:00 and I’m usually up by 4:30 but hey, I’ll take it! I know these two maniacs will eventually go to sleep later than 6:30 and will also sleep later than 4:30 so I’m coasting this wave at the moment. It’s a pretty nice ride. And I’m a morning person so…

They both take a nice solid 1 1/2 hour nap every day. But that varies morning vs afternoon. They will still conk out for long stretches in their car seats so it’s easy for us to go places.

I’m going to shut up now because Jinx is real. (I wrote this sleep paragraph last week and Greyson has been up from 1 am to 3 am the last two nights. JINX. IS. REAL!)

Poop

Nothing new to report here. Greyson hasn’t wet though a diaper in a few weeks so that’s good. Both Beans have started hating diaper changes recently and “the wheels on the bus” just ain’t cutting it. They are bored and don’t want to sit still for a clean tush. They’re fighting getting dressed as well so I’ve discovered that giving them a toy (or a tube of diaper rash cream) to play with helps a ton. We’re trying out swim diapers in a few days (hopefully). I’ll have a full report on those next month.

Nine months really is such a great age. I definitely still miss my teeny newborns, but we all just function so much better these days. The Beans are super fun and so interactive with us. They actually listen to stories now, as opposed to trying to grab the book and eat it. They discover new things every day and they are omgthebestthingever! They have such different personalities, yet are similar in so many ways. Their little twin bond gets stronger every day and it just warms this mama’s heart. I am so thankful every day that I get to share my life with them.

My precious, beautiful babies.

2 thoughts on “Life with Greyson & Fynnlee – 9 Months”

  1. So you mean they will eventually outgrow the “eating books” stage? I don’t have to worry about my teenage daughter chewing on her textbooks in 16 years? What a relief! Joking aside, your kids are so dang perfect. I just love your updates. It’s so much fun watching them grow. They have SO MUCH personality in their photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

